We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stafford
Post
Inbox
Search

“Birthday lunch catch up”
Review of Shire Horse

Shire Horse
Ranked #59 of 267 Restaurants in Stafford
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not been for a while but as usual staff very welcoming. Serving food very good. Thank you to both Jane and Loroa for remembering me and looking after us

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mfptoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first time to the shire horse we really enjoyed our visit both Jane and Lorna looked after us wonderfully. The food was also very tasty and we really enjoyed it thank you again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank chickee1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here a few times. Excellent food, lovely staff. Most times I have been served by Jess who was very polite & always on hand.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank bingo5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Such a nice review to read, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited twice in January so far. It’s a very nice place, can’t fault the quality or service. On both occasions, we were looked after by Jess who was lovely and very attentive.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank oldbiker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Oldbiker007, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of six friends. Something must have gone wrong tonight because the food was so awful it was actually funny. It started with the menu choices - for the vegetarians there was very little and the halloumi was off and their second choice was also off. Only after we ordered did the waitress tell us there was a separate vegetarian menu but didn't offer to bring it over!
Myself and my friend ordered the chicken pie. Rock hard pastry, two tiny pieces of chicken list amongst a gooey sauce and the "gravey" was so thick and kumoy we couldn't get it out if the jug! Carrots were cold and dirty (see pic!). Tiny desert spoon full of veg which was soggy cabbage and three pieces of above mentioned carrots. My friend had the prawn risotto which was a small portion of rice with some tiny cold prawns thrown on top. She didnt eat them. Another friend had the warm butternut squash salad. It wasn't warm. Overall the food is maassively overpriced for the quality. We were offered complementary dessert as an apology but we didn't want to risk any more food so declined and had coffee. But really we should notbhave paid for the poor quality dishes. The waitress apologized but they should have never been sent out. Any chef should have been embarrassed to serve that and to be honest, I don't think you need to be trained to realize it was not up to standard.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank clarec688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Clarec688, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please get in touch with us at 01785 270700 and ask for the manager. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shire Horse also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Shire Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing