We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family dining”
Review of Soup Kitchen

Soup Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 239 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Soup Kitchen, at the top of Church Lane overlooking St Mary’s Church, has been run by the Sandy family for over thirty years. We pride ourselves on our freshly cooked food and are so flattered that folk keep coming back time and time again to visit us. When the weather is fine our roof top garden is always popular and it’s a great place to relax and let life pass you by. From Monday to Saturday we are open for breakfasts, morning coffees, lunches and afternoon teas. Everything is homemade and our team in the bake house work throughout the day turning out delicious pastries, cakes and other delicacies. We offer table and self-service.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family dining”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Soup Kitchen provides everything that could possibly be wanted by a restaurant and coffee house. The building was built in the 16th Century and retains many original features. The food is always freshly prepared and the service is second to none. All the team greet you with a smile and the warmest of welcomes and you will never go away disappointed. It is worth taking a very short detour from High Street to find this truly enchanting restaurant. Thank you, Duncan, Gill and team for making this such a special place to visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph911, Owner at Soup Kitchen, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks Claire for leaving such an appreciative review - I will make sure your kind comments are passed on to everyone here who helps me. We are really pleased that you keep returning to see us here at your 'special place'.
Best wishes from Duncan and all his staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    188
    53
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is consistently excellent. I have been visiting for many years and have seen it grow in size and yet still retain it cosy personal feel. The food is excellent service charming and the welcome very very warm. I love this little gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph911, Owner at Soup Kitchen, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for this little gem of a review - we are just so pleased that folk like you keep returning to The Soup Kitchen and long may this continue! My staff and I look forward to welcoming you again here very soon!
Again many thanks, Duncan Sandy - owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So lucky to have it !”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having lived in Stafford for almost 38 years we have been so fortunate to have such a lovely coffee house in the town. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the owner, Duncan, is usually on hand to welcome customers and ensure everyone is comfortable and happy.
The coffee is, without doubt, the best in town and the warm scones are delicious. The breakfasts are beautifully cooked and presented. The Soup kitchen has become a meeting place for many locals and is also very popular with people from nearby towns...their first port of call on any shopping trip !
Finally, children really are welcome...plenty of toys and high chairs plus good changing facilities in the loos which are always spotless.
Situated in the prettiest part of Stafford too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph911, Owner at Soup Kitchen, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
You so kindly write that you are so lucky to have The Soup Kitchen in Stafford ...... and we are so lucky to have customers like you! We are so pleased that we are the first review you have written for a place in Stafford and we just trust you keep returning to see us as it's our utter pleasure to welcome you here.
All the very best from Duncan and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gets better each visit”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This friendly restaurant really is the best place to eat! They have great friendly staff, delicious meals and yummy cakes! They always make me feel welcome with the children and forgive their mess!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_and_the_brood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph911, Owner at Soup Kitchen, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Laura, it is always good to welcome you and your children to The Soup Kitchen - indeed it is an utter pleasure and do not worry about the mess afterwards! We will keep on baking the yummy cakes if you keep on coming to see us!
My best wishes to you all, Duncan Sandy - owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best place in Stafford for a snack!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The soup Kitchen is a lovely place and has the best cheese scones in town! Waitress service if you need it, and plenty of places to sit so you never have to wait. The breakfasts seem very popular, though we've not tried them.

Go there. Go there NOW!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwt186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph911, Owner at Soup Kitchen, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for posting on Tripadvisor that we are the 'best place in Stafford for a snack'. I am not too sure if we can truly claim that title but we do try and do our very best! Will tell the ladies in our bakehouse that you rate their cheese scones so highly. If you get a chance do sample our breakfasts as I would welcome your opinion.
Thanks again for reviewing us so highly, Duncan Sandy - owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soup Kitchen also viewed

 
Acton Trussell, Stafford
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Soup Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing