We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant venue for a tasty meal”
Review of The Bear Grill

The Bear Grill
Ranked #7 of 239 Restaurants in Stafford
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: American, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Where once the traditional burger was seen purely as a fast food option, gourmet bear grill burgers are knocking tradition on the head. The Bear Grill have created a nutritious sophisticated product using the best and freshest ingredients available. Innovative and exotic combinations bring together the freshest produce prepared with care and attention to maximise flavour.
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
572 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“A pleasant venue for a tasty meal”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Early on a Saturday evening the Bear Grill was just becoming busy. I chose the lamb burger, as a change, and it arrived within 15 minutes, well cooked and nicely presented. Having previously only eaten lamb burgers of the "minted", supermarket variety, I was a little disappointed with the burger, as I thought it a little bland...but nevertheless the meal was tasty and enjoyable. I requested a pear flavoured J20, but this was not available, so I had another alternative.

I can recommend the Bear Grill for an excellent service and atmosphere, and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    149
    71
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard castle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overcooked”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a lovely place to eat and I really enjoyed the selection of songs whilst I was there. my only problem is that my burger was a bit dry and overdone, which is a bit of a problem for a specialist burger bar. I would certainly go back, but may have to have a word with the chef first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a great meal.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited The Bear Grill last night and had a lovely time. I didn't have a starter but I did have a main course.

I had a burger, it had chorizo and Monterey Jack on top and was served with chips and salad. I wasn't too keen on the dressing on the salad but I still ate it. The burger was huge and definitely worth the money. The chips were probably the best I've ever had, I'll definitely be coming back for another meal.

The service was good, I didn't feel like the staff were hovering around us too much but they were never too far away. The meal was reasonably priced and the atmosphere was great. I'll be coming back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow6492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Why no rare burgers?”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Service was great by a a very pleasant and helpful waitress. Chips were of the best and the beer was fine. The range of burgers was most impressive, but why does a specialized burger grill not serve them slightly pink. There is no health and safety rule that rare burgers are banned. There burger was OK, but pink it could have been great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekWB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Bear Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about rare burgers at The Bear Grill.

The reason we do not cook rare burgers, is because our Food Safety Document, and Haccap System, does not allow our premises to cook burgers at 35 degrees, if we do we cannot be sure that any pathogens, ie Food Bacteria, will be destroyed. Our food safety system stipulates that the core temperature of the burgers must reach pasteurisation, this is 75 degrees core, hence destroying any harmful bacteria, hence protecting the guest, and our company.

I do hope this answers your query.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Massive burgers”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food was yummy and the portions were huge, we didn't bother with a starter as it just doesn't seem much point when having a massive burger. the service was good and it wax over all a good place to eat, the only complaint was it was cold in there even though it was sunny out side they seemed to have the air conditioning on a little too much

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebload76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Grill also viewed

 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Bear Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing