We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It continues to be ... OK. With bad internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Park, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It continues to be ... OK. With bad internet.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hey, it's a Holiday Inn Express next to a motorway. This is the second time that I've stayed here (in the same room, oddly). It's perfectly fine.

The hotel still contracts out their internet service to Swisscom, which unfortunately is both expensive and woefully inadequate (VERY slow, like dial-up slow, spotty service) even when I paid for the more expensive "business class" option.

I ended up using the free internet (and having a nice meal and a pint) at the pub across the parking lot. The management of the HIE is aware of just how terrible their internet service is but I would guess their hands are contractually tied because all they could offer me was a well practiced (and frustrated) apology.

If you're traveling on business and need internet, there are other hotels closer to downtown Stafford that have free and good quality internet, or be prepared to eat the pub across from the HIE a lot!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christ0fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and it’s great to see that you have been to us before. I have recently secured and had installed through Swisscom an upgrade to the line in the hotel. We are 9 miles away from the exchange which is why the speed was not great especially in today’s digital age. Fibre optic has come to the area recently and that is what we have installed to improve the speed of the internet at the property. We have a 20mb speed in the hotel on WIFI which I am sure you will agree will be a much better speed than all of our competitor hotels and the pub across the way. So for your next stay you will be able to enjoy our free internet in our bar.
I look forward to your return stay and also your thoughts on our faster internet speed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    252
    86
    26
    15
See reviews for
150
213
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow scotland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the 6th visit to HIE at Stafford as the location next to M6 is ideal for stop over going north or coming south. Rooms getting a bit tired but still clean and tidy. Breakfast is not the best in the world but it is sufficent for a quick getaway in the morning and its FREE. Staff are always helpful. We ate in the pub accross the way which provides good value pub grub. HIE now offers basic food, burgers, piazza etc which looked good value. Its the location that does it for us!

Room Tip: Room at back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordie 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Stafford. I am glad that you have been to us 6 times before it’s great to see that you love coming to the hotel. The snack menu will evolve over time and will continue to be a great offering to our customers.
Again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcoming you back for your 7th stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A well-run, well-organised hotel in the Holiday Inn chain excellently situated adjacent to the M6, Junction 13. Very friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms are good, with flat-screen TV, and courtesy Wifi vouchers. The breakfasts, hot and cold buffet-style are seriously good.
It is a 50 yard walk to the nearby Mandarin Oriental Restaurant which does a variety of great Asian cuisine. An alternative would be the 'Catch Corner' Pub, in the Fayre & Square chain which has serves typical 'pub grub'...and is family-friendly.

Room Tip: Although adjacent to the very busy M6, the rooms are soundproofed and we had no problems with traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in giving great customer service. I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and visited the Chinese restaurant opposite the hotel. Just a point for your next stay why not try our new hot snack menu which is available 24 hours a day?
Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a night en route to Edinburgh and were looking for nothing more than a clean and quiet room.

The welcome was one of the friendliest we've had in a long time and the room was a decent size with a sofa bed in addition to the double. Double glazing cut the road noise from the M6 to a dull murmur.

The free breakfast was a good variety of hot and cold items - far better than we'd expected. With a Chinese restaurant opposite and the Fayre Square pub selling good value meals this was an excellent stop.

The only complaint is the £7 charge for wifi - have a drink in the pub opposite and use their free wifi!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I am very happy that you found the welcome to the hotel a great one. We pride ourselves on great customer service at the hotel. The complimentary hot breakfast is very good. We feel that this really does the job compared to some competitor properties where you have to buy your breakfast on top of your room rate.
We do charge for internet in the rooms but in the public area this is free of charge and we have just recently upgraded the service using a fibre optic connection so it will be a truly better experience
Again thanks for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times in the last few years.
The front desk staff continue to be very helpful and friendly.The breakfast area was always well served and tidy but the food a little disappointing.
The cleanliness of the room has deteriorated significantly.
The room floor was not vacuumed during the six days I was there and the same hairs were still on the bathroom floor as when I arrived. Mold in the shower enclosure. Hand sink soap dispenser did not work and was not repaired even after mentioning it to cleaning staff.
I spilled coffee on the bed and when I removed the sheets to try and mop the coffee up, I was disgusted with the number of other large stains on the mattress. I asked for and received a new mattress.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lamae9,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that our staff are helpful and friendly. Please accept my sincerest apologies for not being at par or exceed your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make it right.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

So... we stayed at The Holiday Inn Express Acton Court on our way to Scotland on Christmas night. Very quiet when we arrived and we were starving. The lovely lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was fine - standard for Holiday Inn (actually identical to the room we stayed in at Portsmouth a month ago). We ordered food from the snack bar from 9pm to 1am on and off and it was actually of very good quality for the price etc.. and considering we were grazing and probably a pain in the bum to her, the receptionist was friendly and chatty each time we came down! The only issue I had was that we could not get subtitles on the telly - my partner is deaf and although hearing aids help, he can only really watch telly with subtitles - so that was a shame. All in all though I felt we had a very good service for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiJackson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your review.
I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I’m happy to see you enjoyed food from our snack menu and found our staff to be happy to help.
We do havea few rooms which have full sky tv, these rooms have subtitles, please enquire at reception when making your reservation and we can try and accomodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on Business - Arrived Sunday mid-evening and would have liked something light to eat - but most everything on the 'snacks' menu was 'off' leaving not much better than a baked potato (choice of beans or cheese topping only) available - Not very nice nor really worth it with a price tag of over £6 !! The room was fairly spacious and it was clean although I was surprised to find there was graffiti on the wall in the bathroom ! There was no complimentary soap/shampoo and no iron in the room. The TV was a somehow very low-resolution and the remote didn't work.
Still on the food theme - Breakfast was particularly disappointing - On offer was tinned grapefruit or tinned mandarin segments, coffee from a vending machine, packet cereals, DIY toast, and some stale looking croissants/cakes. The cooked option was unappetising, anemic looking sausages, scambled egg and beans only - all served in warming dishes reminiscent of a school kitchen (no bacon or other choice)
The staff were pleasant enough and no complaints about their service (car parking was recorded at check-in) but the place seems to be operating very much 'down to a price' rather than 'up to a standard' - Unless/Until Holiday Inn improves quality I will be choosing Premier Inn for budget/business accommodation near Stafford in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear epicrh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am pleased to know that you find our rooms clean and our staff nice. The team takes great pride in their work and they will be happy that it has been mentioned. Please accept my apology if your stay was negatively affected by the food options in our restaurant. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
4.1 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
579 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Address: Acton Court | Acton Gate, Stafford ST18 9AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stafford
#5 Family Hotel in Stafford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the great-value Holiday Inn Express Stafford hotel for its convenient location just off junction 13 of the M6 and the great facilities on offer. Easy access and free parking mean it's easy to reach Holiday Inn Express Stafford by car. Our welcoming, 4-storey hotel is 4 miles from Stafford town centre, and a short drive from thrilling rides at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor theme parks. It's 8 miles to antiques fairs and horse shows at Staffordshire County Showground, under 7 miles to Shugborough Hall and just 20 miles from Birmingham Airport. From the moment you arrive our friendly team are on hand to ensure you enjoy your stay. Why not order a drink and a pizza from the bar and relax in the Great Room lounge before retiring for the night? If you fancy popping out to grab some dinner, you'll find the Catch Corner Pub opposite, serving hearty food. Your en suite bedroom features a 32-inch flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee in addition to a comfy bed, hairdryer and work desk. Family Rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed with space for 2 adults and 2 children. Our breakfast is included in your room price. After a great night's sleep, make time to enjoy the buffet which includes scrambled eggs, baked beans, bacon, sausages, cereals, yogurts and more. Our Stafford hotel also offers three modern meeting rooms, the largest of which can accommodate 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stafford m6 Jct. 13 Hotel Stafford
Stafford Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Stafford
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing