We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing flash,just the job though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
bridgend
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing flash,just the job though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

As Express hotels goes this was clean and tidy with super friendly staff. Great resteraunt opposite 1 min walk away . My only negatives are the price of the beers etc,absolute rip off,and not enough attention to food stocks during the breakfast time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the room was up to your standard and the staff, which in my opinion makes any hotel, was very friendly and welcoming to you.
I do read with interest that you were not happy with the bar prices. We constantly review our prices in line with our local competition and try and make sure that all of our beer is competitively priced. We do have certain special promotions on most the time, next time you visit just ask one of the bar staff of what special offers we have.
Thank you for your comment in regards to the buffet food we have used this information in team meetings to analyse peak times and products to ensure that the buffet is stocked with a plentiful amount of food.

I do hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and once again thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    236
    81
    25
    15
See reviews for
140
193
26
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

A very conveniently located hotel, which was clean and of a good standard. The pub opposite was a real bonus too and great value. The room was spacious and comfortable and was very good value for money. The only downside was that the people in the room next door had dogs which barked early in the morning and they seemed to enjoy slamming doors and setting the fire alarm off at 6 am!!! This however, was not the hotel's fault and they were apologetic when mentioned.

Overall, a good stay and would definitely book again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank p7gym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We can remember when the first hotels in the Travelodge chain opened in the UK, budget-priced yet ideal for business and leisure. Successive ownerships have seen that particular brand largely devalued -- in our experience -- and overtaken now by Premier Inns and Holiday Inn Express. Premier has wider UK coverage than HIE but it's now reached the stage that though we still enjoy a Premier stop-over, it's HIE which gets our custom.

The reason is as much the sheer spaciousness of the HIE offerings -- and we've stayed at many throughout the UK -- as the value. Because as Premier Inns progressively hikes its room rates ever higher, its value-for-money proportionately diminishes: we have to factor in an additional £16 per night to every Premier Inn stay because of the charge for breakfast.

Not so with Holiday Inn Express; breakfast is included, and although it's buffet-style, it has always been, in our experience, well-presented and featuring a wide variety of choice.

As here, at the Stafford HIE, where we stayed on Wednesday, February 22nd 2012, on a long southbound trip down the M6. For sheer convenience, this HIE cannot be beaten: it's a mere two minutes (literally) off the motorway, has a decent-sized car park, and is attractively designed and well maintained. As an added bonus, it's next to one of the best brand restaurant chains around: Fayre & Square, where we had an excellent gammon steak dinner for a fiver each (yes, that's right: two adult meals for £10.) There's also a likewise attractive Mandarin restaurant next door with quality Chinese and Asian cuisine.

Check-in and check-out at the Stafford HIE was fast and fuss-free: the reception staff both by night and by day were welcoming, attentive, and courteous. The building is modern, light, airy, and well designed, with lounge and large breakfasting area. Our ground floor bedroom -- Room 6 -- was roomy and well appointed in true HIE style, including a Samsung LCD flat screen TV and independent room heating controls. HIE bathrooms never cease to delight in their novel "swing-door" maximization of floor space and, yet again, HIE housekeeping standards were right up there with the best: spotlessly clean throughout. Oh: the double glazing works just fine: traffic may be thundering along the adjacent motorway but it's not possible to hear any of it.

The breakfast service was, yet again, comprehensive, with multiple choice cereals, fruit and pastries, and the hot buffet the usual HIE mix of scrambled eggs, beans and sausages -- there may have been bacon, but we never saw any and wouldn't have wanted it anyway.

A point to note with all these brands is that each establishment tends to be a privately owned franchise, and the only slight demerit where HIE Stafford is concerned is that the former proprietors -- not the present -- entered into an Internet service contract with the provider, Swisscom.

Well, Swisscom may work for someone, somewhere, but our experience of Swisscom's service has consistently disappointed. Our overnight stay was no different; we could get the wifi signal without difficulty in our ground-floor Room 6 (it's only a short distance from the lobby) but could we connect to the Internet via Swisscom? Not a chance: after interminable delays waiting for Swisscom to authorise the truly clunky access entry code and password -- ye Gods, there are better and simpler ways of providing a customer log-in than that -- we abandoned the idea.

The vouchers for 30-minute sessions were available at a small charge from reception; as we didn't get any Swisscom service, HIE didn't charge us.

Summary: a thoroughly well-run, clean, modern, spacious hotel as suited to leisure travel as business. Exceptionally convenient, with excellent staff and amenities, the HIE Stafford is a class act that we'd unhesitatingly recommend, its online room rates exceptional value -- much better than Premier Inns -- in view of the fact that user-chooser cooked or Continental breakfast is included in the price.

As to the wi-fi situation, it's our understanding that HIE Stafford's contract with Swisscom may have some time still to run; our advice would be for the hotel to cut its links with that provider now, and bring in free wifi provision for up to 60 minutes per stay. However, the fact that we encountered difficulties with Swisscom in no way marks down the hotel in our view as paying customers: Premier Inns is going to have to make a reality check soon if it's to remain competitive with Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Have stayed here several times, the staff and facilities still being as good as on our previous visits. Ideal for a stopover as it is just off the M6 J13. but no noise from M6.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Happywanderer35
Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for the review. I am glad that as normal you found the hotel up to its normal high standards. I am pleased that you did not encounter any issues with the noise from the motorway. People always have that expectation when staying in a motorway location that it will be noisy but as you know this is not the case in Stafford.

Again thanks for the review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We booked a family room - 2 adults, 2 children. Very close to junction 13 of M6 so very convenient location. Checking in very simple and quick, room perfect for one night. Very clean bedroom and ensuite. Good secure car park with plenty of spaces. Although so close to M6 we heard very little noise at all. Spacious breakfast room with good offer of food.
Definitely worth the rate of £56 for room including breakfast for all four of us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EP1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express in Stafford.
I am glad that your stay with your family was a good one, and I am very pleased that you found our rates very competitive. We always offer the best rates directly on our website so if returning please have a look.

I am pleased that the team were able to check you in quickly and the room met your expectations. I do hope that you got to visit the local area on your stay, and sample what Staffordshire has to offer to families, may that be from Alton Towers Resort to Telford Town Park (featuring an Alice in Wonderland Experience).
When returning to us please let us know if you would like to visit some of the many attractions as we have discounted tickets on places such as Alton Towers. We even have a package which offers great value.

Again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

£15 for 24 hours of internet?!?!

Bought this stay through hotwire and the internet was listed as being included. On check-in, turns out that the internet is only complimentary in the lobby, and in the rooms costs £15 per 24 hours. Really? I'm writing this review now on my gold-plated (but strangely, slow) internet connection from my room at the hotel.
The hotel is right next to the M6 motorway, and the motorway noise is quite noticeable but not extreme. The hotel was easy to find, seems clean and generally "fine".

I'm sorry to harp on about the £15 internet per day but honestly I try to only stay places with internet included, then to be subject to this outrageous overcharging adds insult to injury.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christ0fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am sorry that you where sold a package by a third part channel that you did not feel was correct. We do offer complimentary wifi in our public area which is unlimited however in our bedrooms we do charge for internet use unless you buy an all inclusive package at the hotel’s own website which would you give you the freedom to use in the room also.

I am surprised that you have encountered internet issues in regards to speed. I have asked our provider to look into this for me.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stepps
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel located just off the M6 offers good value for money. The check in was quick and efficient. The bedroom was compact with a good en-suite shower room and toilet. The large comfortable bed was excellent and even though the room was on the side facing the motorway there was no discernible traffic noise. The breakfast room was bright and large enough for the size of the hotel and the complimentary self service breakfast was very good. The car park has a security barrier and there is a pub offering evening meals just across the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeStepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186377AndrewS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Stafford. I am glad that you found the hotel and it’s facilites to be of the standard you would come to expect from us. I am glad that the check in experience, the breakfast the clean room and minimal noise from the motorway all contributed to you having a great stay.

I do hope you will recommend to friends to and family what a great hotel this is and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for your reveiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Address: Acton Court | Acton Gate, Stafford ST18 9AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stafford
#5 Family Hotel in Stafford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the great-value Holiday Inn Express Stafford hotel for its convenient location just off junction 13 of the M6 and the great facilities on offer. Easy access and free parking mean it's easy to reach Holiday Inn Express Stafford by car. Our welcoming, 4-storey hotel is 4 miles from Stafford town centre, and a short drive from thrilling rides at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor theme parks. It's 8 miles to antiques fairs and horse shows at Staffordshire County Showground, under 7 miles to Shugborough Hall and just 20 miles from Birmingham Airport. From the moment you arrive our friendly team are on hand to ensure you enjoy your stay. Why not order a drink and a pizza from the bar and relax in the Great Room lounge before retiring for the night? If you fancy popping out to grab some dinner, you'll find the Catch Corner Pub opposite, serving hearty food. Your en suite bedroom features a 32-inch flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea and coffee in addition to a comfy bed, hairdryer and work desk. Family Rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed with space for 2 adults and 2 children. Our breakfast is included in your room price. After a great night's sleep, make time to enjoy the buffet which includes scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausages, cereals, yogurts and more. Our Stafford hotel also offers three modern meeting rooms, the largest of which can accommodate 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stafford m6 Jct. 13 Hotel Stafford
Stafford Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Stafford
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13 Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing