We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Everything about the New Year's Eve at The Swan was excellent. I phoned and spoke to Nikki who was unbelievably helpful and pleasant. I had to email her with queries a couple of times and she responded within minutes every time.
We arrived last night and the reception staff were pleasant and efficient. We had booked a 4 poster bed room and it was excellent. The room was large and the en suite bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean.
We had booked in to the restaurant for the 4 course meal. The food was amazing and the fillet steak was up there with the best steak I have ever tasted. The disco was really good and relaxed. I drank the Holly Bush ale which was well kept and full of flavour.
The staff made our New Year a memorable one and we will definitely be booking again.

Room Tip: The 4 poster bed rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 642 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Club sandwich was the best club sandwich, as were the onion ringsI've had, brilliant service. Tess Bown in particular! Christmas spirit all round! Very welcoming and always willing to help out. Very fast service as well!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I booked for a Sunday evening stay and had a wonderful night. Beautiful room with 4 poster bed and great amenities. Will be booking another stay soon for sure. Great friendly staff and outstanding food.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marty1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at the Swan two times this year. The service is great, breakfast is perfect. Would give it a 5 if the rooms were renovated, more clean and having some style...
The restaurant and bar is ok. The hotel is in the center of Stafford close to everything.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank SJBK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed two nights and had a great time. The hotel is right in the centre of Stafford near to the shops and pubs/restaurants.

We received a great welcome at reception when we arrived being greeted by a smiley, friendly receptionist. The room and shower were good and had everything we needed. We were able to individually control the temperature of the room with the radiator or by opening the window.

Breakfast was really delicious and there was lots of choice with cereal, fruit, juice, pastries and individually cooked breakfasts.

There was some noise from the bar on the Saturday night but this stopped promptly when it closed.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed for two nights on a business journey to Stafford. The car park is not that easy to find in the dark, but it's free!
I had a second floor room toward the rear of the hotel.
The room appeared to have been very recently refurbished. The bed was really comfortable, cupboards and wardrobe looked brand new, tv worked well, wifi worked perfectly. In the bathroom, basin taps and shower worked really well (there was no bath), bathroom fittings were clean, towels were soft and fluffy.
The room was very hot when I arrived. I turned the radiator down and left a note asking staff not to turn it back on again. When I returned on second day note was still there, radiator was off, room was at a nice cool temperature.
Can't comment on noise levels as I stayed Sunday and Monday night and hotel (and the rest of Stafford) was very quiet.
Breakfast was well presented and good value.
Evening meal was good value, if anything portions were too large (!) Good quality food & ingredients.
The staff were attentive, polite, friendly and very well presented.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh_R_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely hotel paper thin walls and wall mounted tv in the room next door don't need mine on can hear ever word in room 113 . Great center location and very well renovated innovative use of space on the friend floor. Restraunt served great food slate plates not great staff very friendly and very considerate UN like the GUEST in number 13 seems to struggle in mastering tv sound control at 23.38

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
991 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
759 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: $104 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing