We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch date”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Stone
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch date”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited the swan hotel for lunch as we have had such good experiences at the other Lewis partnership venues. This visit was very disappointing. The chef had a hissy fit in front of customers because the waitress put two meals through that they no longer had. This was also disappointing for us. As she also had to ask us three times what table we were sat at, they weren't busy but there was a lot of staff doing nothing. The prawn and smoked salmon salad was nice but would have preferred to receive the dressing, so it was very dry and not worth £6.50. My daughters ham egg and chips was lovely. The food overall was nice but the service was poor, especially as we had to reorder due to meals not available and then have to ask for the original requests to be removed from the bill. The chef then had another tantrum when our second request didn't come through, perhaps he should have concentrated on preparing the food and then we might have received the citrus dressing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank taveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    162
    57
    23
    9
See reviews for
79
213
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is gorgeous! We stayed in the four poster bedroom. It was very traditional. The room was gorgeous!

Only downside to the room was that you could hear the cafe area downstairs in the morning.

The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.

The breakfast was amazing. There was a large selection of both hot and cold breakfasts. The hot selection was cooked for you and exactly like we asked!

We are planning on visiting again in the new year. We will definitely be staying again but next time in one of the executive rooms which we have been informed are on the 3rd floor!

We really enjoyed our stay.

Thank you :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellie270608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitford, Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent three nights at The Swan Hotel while visiting the area. It is a well situated establishment in the centre of the small town of Stafford.

Over all we found our visit pleasant and the close proximity to the shops and alternative eateries very beneficial. There is a convenient parking area to the rear of the hotel. This was not easy to locate initially (our GPS sent us around the narrow lanes) but once we had found it made our life easy as one of us commuted out of town daily.

The room was on the third floor. It was pleasant with a nice elevated roof and church view, TV, heated towel rail, wardrobe and good free internet access (with small desk). There were complimentary biscuits a selection of tea, chocolate and coffee's and small bottles of water (although these were not always replenished).

The breakfast was included and good. It offered the normal cold selections, including fresh pastries plus the option to order off the hot menu. We ate in the restaurant and were quite happy with the service and the food. I also selected food from the cafe which was well prepared and generous. There is a comfortable bar area with good seating. I would imagine in winter with a fire this would be a nice attractive environment. The outside courtyard area is lovely, well planted, private and with good seating and tables. There is a casual hamburger type restuarant almost opposite the Swan. It is owned by the same partnership and the food is very good, relaxed atmosphere and can be charged back to your room. This gives yet another dining option although we were only made aware of it by a retail staff member in a clothing shop not the Swan Hotel itself.

The staff are one of The Swans main strengths. Without exception we were treated with friendly, helpful and genuine service. From the desk that explored all options for us to find a suitable facility to do not so small amount of laundry (a bag can be sent out locally with pick up and drop off if you are wanting more than one item laundered) to the friendly cleaning lady. We were most impressed by the overall standard.

There were a few things that were not so perfect. As could be expected with an old and dated lift it occasionally breaks down. It chose during our visit to do so. Walking up the (very subsided) stairs to the third floor was for us not an issue. But for some visitors this may have posed a very real problem. This was not the hotels fault but if you have a disability or are not able to negotiate an old staircase perhaps request a lower room. I assume the repair will stop this happening again at least in the near future!

The other problems were a little more annoying. The bed was uncomfortable. In fact the most uncomfortable we have experienced in a hotel for sometime. It was hard and obviously spring based without any form of topper. The situation was made worse by the flat pillows which we constantly forgot to ask to either have replaced or have another one or two supplied. We feel the beds do need replacing or at least covered with a topper. It is unusual nowdays not to enjoy a comfortable sleep.

Being on the third floor of an old building we did expect the hot water to take sometime to reach us. On one evening neither of us could get any warmth from the shower and both of us put up with a cold dose of water. The repairman did come up the following day but considered it was our operation of the shower itself. Throughout the rest of our visit the temperature fluctuated in and out of luke warm to slightly colder (the warm did drop off completely if you extended your stay under the water for more than a few minutes in the evening!)

All in all we did enjoy our stay at The Swan. It is well located, has a variety of nice places to eat and drink, lovely staff and good parking. If in Stafford again we would definately stay at The Swan Hotel again and with a few small changes enjoy our visit even more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I went to Stafford to visit relatives and needed a hotel for the Saturday night. The Swan came up with a very reasonable price for b&b so we booked it. The room was lovely and clean , and although the top floor seemed a bit too much exercise, we were relieved at night as the restaurant and bar areas were very noisy as was the outside street, probably because it was Saturday, but we couldn't hear a lot where we were. We were however woken at 6ish by a street cleaner that drove past several times in close succession. Then the church bells rang for some time so we got showered and went to breakfast. The food was very nice, and I don't think I have ever seen such a nice choice , I eventually chose oatcakes filled with sausage and beans and melted cheese, very filling. My friend had a large English breakfast and we were ready for our long journey home. There was also porridge, smoked haddock and much more. The staff were very helpful, and there was ALWAYS someone on the reception desk. The shops were right by the hotel, and the area was very clean and picturesque, with pretty flowers along the way. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms might be quieter, but the building is listed and the floors are uneven, so if it bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseQ499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having eaten in the restaurant only once before and not been overly impressed,we thought we would give it one more go. We were sadly very disappointed again. The general atmosphere was good but the service and quality of the food was well below average.
There were 9 of us in our party. The quality of the meals ranged from average to poor. All the meals needed seasoning, especially the pasta dish which was so bland three quarters was left. But it was more than just seasonsing. The quality was no better than your average pub grub and with some meals it was much worse! The portion size of the two of our fish dishes was appalling - you would have received more on a starter plate. A tiny fish, a couple of chickpeas and a chopped up slice of chorizo does not constitute a meal. We needed to order extra side orders. The service was also well below par.we ordered drinks and had to ask three times to chase them up.
Considering the above, we felt cheated at the price of about £25 per head. We will definitely not return. We all agreed we would rather have got a takeaway!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor regarding your poor meal experience at The Swan.

I am grateful for your feedback as it is only with comments such as yours that we can address the issues that we appeared to have with your booking. I am disappointed to learn that this was your second visit and that you were disappointed on both occasions. This service received and quality of food is not the usual offering that The Swan Hotel pride themselves on and I have spoken to our Chef and Brasserie staff to highlight the points you have raised.

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you do not wish to dine with us again, but as you can see from other reviews on this site the standard you received on your visit is not our usual offering.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in August On the way from south of England to Scotland Beautiful hotel, large clean rooms. Exceptional staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was delicious making the most of all local produce. Leave some room for breakfast, great choice and very large portions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie09061961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked two single rooms for one night (for a reunion of old friends). The hotel is located in the town centre within a short walking distance from shops, banks, museum and library. There is a car parking area controlled by a barrier and is free for hotel customers. The rooms were generous in proportion, well equipped with complimentary selection of drinks and toiletries. The hotel was pleasantly busy on a bank holiday weekend. The service remained prompt and courteous despite the very busy bar and restaurant.

The Hotel has a big bar area and at least two generous dining areas. The main restaurant was full on the night and probably needs booking in advance on busy weekends. We went to the bar dining area and had a lovely three course meal from a reasonably priced selection. The food and service were impressive. Next morning we had an excellent breakfast, that was better than many I had in more expensive hotels.

One very big plus must go for the cooling fans left in all rooms. It has been a warm summer and whilst British hoteliers are keen to restrict windows opening on health and safety grounds they seem determined to ignore the health and safety issue relating to poor ventilation and hot weather. Apart from a couple of air-conditioned rooms, this was the only hotel out of more than a dozen I stayed in this summer that had a cooling fan.

In summary staying in the Swan was a very rewarding experience and I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody looking for quality hotel in the stafford area.

From me and my friends, five stars on all measure.

Room Tip: May need reservation at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldshield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing