We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed...”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed...”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having eaten in the restaurant only once before and not been overly impressed,we thought we would give it one more go. We were sadly very disappointed again. The general atmosphere was good but the service and quality of the food was well below average.
There were 9 of us in our party. The quality of the meals ranged from average to poor. All the meals needed seasoning, especially the pasta dish which was so bland three quarters was left. But it was more than just seasonsing. The quality was no better than your average pub grub and with some meals it was much worse! The portion size of the two of our fish dishes was appalling - you would have received more on a starter plate. A tiny fish, a couple of chickpeas and a chopped up slice of chorizo does not constitute a meal. We needed to order extra side orders. The service was also well below par.we ordered drinks and had to ask three times to chase them up.
Considering the above, we felt cheated at the price of about £25 per head. We will definitely not return. We all agreed we would rather have got a takeaway!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor regarding your poor meal experience at The Swan.

I am grateful for your feedback as it is only with comments such as yours that we can address the issues that we appeared to have with your booking. I am disappointed to learn that this was your second visit and that you were disappointed on both occasions. This service received and quality of food is not the usual offering that The Swan Hotel pride themselves on and I have spoken to our Chef and Brasserie staff to highlight the points you have raised.

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you do not wish to dine with us again, but as you can see from other reviews on this site the standard you received on your visit is not our usual offering.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    173
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
92
227
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in August On the way from south of England to Scotland Beautiful hotel, large clean rooms. Exceptional staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was delicious making the most of all local produce. Leave some room for breakfast, great choice and very large portions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie09061961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked two single rooms for one night (for a reunion of old friends). The hotel is located in the town centre within a short walking distance from shops, banks, museum and library. There is a car parking area controlled by a barrier and is free for hotel customers. The rooms were generous in proportion, well equipped with complimentary selection of drinks and toiletries. The hotel was pleasantly busy on a bank holiday weekend. The service remained prompt and courteous despite the very busy bar and restaurant.

The Hotel has a big bar area and at least two generous dining areas. The main restaurant was full on the night and probably needs booking in advance on busy weekends. We went to the bar dining area and had a lovely three course meal from a reasonably priced selection. The food and service were impressive. Next morning we had an excellent breakfast, that was better than many I had in more expensive hotels.

One very big plus must go for the cooling fans left in all rooms. It has been a warm summer and whilst British hoteliers are keen to restrict windows opening on health and safety grounds they seem determined to ignore the health and safety issue relating to poor ventilation and hot weather. Apart from a couple of air-conditioned rooms, this was the only hotel out of more than a dozen I stayed in this summer that had a cooling fan.

In summary staying in the Swan was a very rewarding experience and I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody looking for quality hotel in the stafford area.

From me and my friends, five stars on all measure.

Room Tip: May need reservation at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldshield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Swan is a little pricey, but is a lovely historic building in a lovely setting in the quaint old town of Stafford. It is nicely decorated throughout, and comfortable. I was greeted by a large very soft teddy bear on my bed, which was welcoming, but a bit of a cunning ploy - the teddy bear is available for purchase on your departure, at a cost of "only" (cough, cough) £20. I resisted the temptation, but am glad I didn't have my daughter with me, or I would have been forced to part with £20 for said teddy bear.
The bathroom was nice with clean soft towels, luxury soaps and bottles of luxury liquid hand, body and hair wash. The bed was very comfortable (with teddy to cuddle up to too).
Charles Darwin apparently stayed here once, and wasn't too fussed on the food - but there is a different chef from his day, and I found the food to be delicious. The restaurant does a vegetarian special night on a Tuesday, which unfortunately (as a vegetarian) I missed, being there on a Wednesday, which was Steak night! However, there were still plenty of delicious sounding veggie options on the menu and despite it being steak night, I was spoilt for choice. I eventually went for the lighter options on the special menu, which was cheaper, but there was still more than I could eat, and it was all bursting with flavour. Thursday night is Fish special, for those who are fish lovers. Breakfast was good, with a buffet of cereals, fruit, danish pastries, yoghurts, fruit juice etc, and a menu to choose cooked breakfasts, porridge with brown sugar and raisins, omelettes etc. There was plenty of choice. Again, a nice vegetarian full English breakfast was on offer, with veggie sausages, poached eggs, mushroom, tomatoes, beans and fried eggs, with toast, preserves, honey and marmite. It was far too much for me to eat though.
Staff were very friendly, pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinRainbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Swan Hotel is ideal for the business visitor to boom town Stafford with car parking in a largely pedestrainised county town centre. It is within minutes of walking distance of the County Council HQ, Stafford Borough Council offices, the Law Courts, University, Victoria Patrk, and train station. Journey time to London by rail is one hour 20 minutes. That's why most of the other guests seemd to be there to work not play- after all Staffordshire is a coming destination for tourism with the Staffordshire Hoard, and multiple cultural and sporting events- it's not just about Alton Towers. The Swan Hotel also has atmosphere, history, and friendly service with people who enjoy their work. Bedrooms are well appointed and spacious. The only drawback was noise from outside-late night revellers and early morning waste collection but then it was summer and the windows were open. I found the drinks at the bar reasonably priced (by London standards) and breakfast was generous and well presented.

Room Tip: Ask about the early morning and late night noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here in July and booked rooms for my son and family. We were supposed to have special rates. but £79.00 for a small single dingy room with small shower room I was VERY dissapointed. Everything needed a good refurbish. My sons family room was again bland with only a shower room--no bath--for a family with a one year old and a three year old---special rate £119.00! Every room also has a teddy on the bed, to purchase for charity for £20.00--you can imagine what chaos there was when the children were told they could not take the teddy with them, as another £20.00 on top of the room was a step beyond !! I filled a complaint form in but never even had an email!!! The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful, but give it a miss if you are a single traveller or a family. Rooms that had beed re decorated etc were OK I was told. So also look at the room you are paying for!!

Room Tip: Do not book if you are a family unless they can offer a bth in the bathroom, also ask before getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofEden667102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Returned to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary,having met my husband at RAF STAFFORD.stayed many a week -end while single.but would be unable to do so at today's prices.The hotel has been updated to a high spec and the outside space was very inviting.Met old friends and had a meal in the restaurant made booking by email and had a great table by the window so able to enjoy the cycle race as the start/finish line right outside hotel,added bonus.Food and service was of a high quality ,breakfast was to a very high standard and a good selection of cooked meals available to order. Saturday morning farmers market in square.good selection of home produce.Church Bells did ring on Sunday morning but added to the overall enjoyment of the stay and as getting ready to feast on the breakfast did not disturb us in the least,.Noticed hotel had way to car park well displayed for drivers,also informed me by email of road closures due to races had I required it,.Had a lovely time back in Stafford and The Swan was the icing on the cake ( check out coffee shop if waist line can stand it )

Room Tip: room 211, although double lacked bedside table and light on one side of bed ,had room for second
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing