We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY PRICEY!!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“VERY PRICEY!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here in July and booked rooms for my son and family. We were supposed to have special rates. but £79.00 for a small single dingy room with small shower room I was VERY dissapointed. Everything needed a good refurbish. My sons family room was again bland with only a shower room--no bath--for a family with a one year old and a three year old---special rate £119.00! Every room also has a teddy on the bed, to purchase for charity for £20.00--you can imagine what chaos there was when the children were told they could not take the teddy with them, as another £20.00 on top of the room was a step beyond !! I filled a complaint form in but never even had an email!!! The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful, but give it a miss if you are a single traveller or a family. Rooms that had beed re decorated etc were OK I was told. So also look at the room you are paying for!!

Room Tip: Do not book if you are a family unless they can offer a bth in the bathroom, also ask before getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofEden667102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    165
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
81
221
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Returned to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary,having met my husband at RAF STAFFORD.stayed many a week -end while single.but would be unable to do so at today's prices.The hotel has been updated to a high spec and the outside space was very inviting.Met old friends and had a meal in the restaurant made booking by email and had a great table by the window so able to enjoy the cycle race as the start/finish line right outside hotel,added bonus.Food and service was of a high quality ,breakfast was to a very high standard and a good selection of cooked meals available to order. Saturday morning farmers market in square.good selection of home produce.Church Bells did ring on Sunday morning but added to the overall enjoyment of the stay and as getting ready to feast on the breakfast did not disturb us in the least,.Noticed hotel had way to car park well displayed for drivers,also informed me by email of road closures due to races had I required it,.Had a lovely time back in Stafford and The Swan was the icing on the cake ( check out coffee shop if waist line can stand it )

Room Tip: room 211, although double lacked bedside table and light on one side of bed ,had room for second
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

At first thought this place was maybe a touch pricey, but when we saw the size of the breakfast that was included, had to revise my opinion. Is a great, old hotel with an interesting history. The rooms are really nice and so clean. The breakfast was great and the table service was top class. The corridors are a bit narrow, so might be a bit difficult getting around for larger people, other than that can't fault it and would love to stay again and introduce other friends to it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Swan the night before the Stafford GP cycle race. Great rooms, great food and very helpful staff. Working in cycling I stay in a variety of hotels and this was up there with the best of them. All the staff were helpful, but a big shout out for chef and his team who made my job run like clockwork. Cheers guys! Thoroughly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am in the Swan most weeks. Last Thursday lunchtime 25th July decided to meet a friend for lunch. Sat in the garden and ordered a salad on a flatbread. My friend had chicken and anchovies. Just a few lettuce leaves and chicken on a soggy flatbread. No other salad !! It was so boring. Staff were lovely. I find lately that the Bear Grill and the Swan are very hit and miss with food. Saturday had a relative to take out. Didnt dare chance the food again. We went to Pastiche. Ammmmazzing. how do they put so much variety, taste and presentation into a meal and charge so little. That is my question to the Swan.??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding the poor quality of the food that you received on your recent visit.

This is not our usual standard and I am at a loss as to why our normal high standards have not been maintained during your visit. I have spoken to the Chef and this matter has been addressed.

It is only by customers comments such as yours that we can improve our standards and I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel after a long drive from Norwich at 8.00 pm on a lovely and warm summers evening. Be warned the post code for the hotel given by LateRooms.com will not bring you to the hotel car park when using sat nav. I phoned the hotel and they gave me a different code which worked. Single en suite room was comfortable enough with an excellent shower. The electric fan was much appreciated and wi-fi was free and easy to access. I went for a pizza in the nearby market square but returned later to the bar where the hotel had a good choice of drinks. The Brasserie menu looked a little formulaic and could have done with some local and seasonal dishes. Breakfast was excellent with delicious bacon and sausages and served by friendly and helpful staff. A real bonus was the complementary car parking until 5.30 pm the following day. I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mickyh753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh folk abroad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Swan Hotel and we were made extremely welcomed from the staff at reception to the staff at breakfast. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The facilities provided in the rooms was great. The restaurant was excellent. We would return again and will recommend to others. Well done to the management of this excellent run hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing