We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Christmas Meal”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

There were a group of us from work. I'd made all the arrangements. The staff were very friendley and helpful prior to us going for the meal. Great communication via e-mail to the catering organisers. The bistro restaurant is lovely and clean. The food was great - hot and enough time left between courses. The service was excellent. We had a thoroughly good time and would not hesitate booking again. A couple of people didn't come and although the money hadn't been paid and we couldn't have the money back we could use it towards the cost of drinks, which was very considerate. The central location (right in the middle of town) makes this place easily accessible for a night out on the town afterwards. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 659 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got a room at the Swan for £70 for the night including breakfast. The room was huge. You could have played volleyball in it. The bathroom was bigger than a lot of hotel bedrooms. The staff were very helpful and our evening meal for four came to only £36 including drinks. The hotel is an old Tudor style building with a restraint, coffee shop and bar. It is smack in the centre of Stafford and opens its front door onto the pedestrian area opposite a Norma church. The free (to guests) car park is at the rear and you can stay p til 5pm on the departure day. It is pretty big so getting a space was not a problem. It is on my list of places to come back to.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonnona1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at The Swan just before Christmas. The rooms were attractively decorated, clean and with VERY comfortable beds. Our bathroom was huge with a decent size bath and good shower.
Although a town centre hotel, noise levels from outside or below were not an issue at all. We had an excellent breakfast; all staff were welcoming and attentive, aiming to please. This is a proper hotel with coffee shop, bar and restaurant - unlike the soulless motels which Tripadvisor seem to let dominate the hotel category. As for the car park - try reading the hotel's website for the SATNAV post code. Actually, it provides excellent parking right in the middle of the town!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drw1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at The Swan for two nights visiting family, free parking at the rear of the hotel, check in area is a little small as it is situated with the cafe seating area I really wasn't comfortable discussing personal info within earshot of other people. The Swan is an old building which adds to it character, the hotel is situated on Stafford high street so the local shops are very handy as are other bars and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean, all staff were very polite and helpful. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on both nights, the food was of a good standard, service on the first night was very slow 45 minute wait for our starter, service on the second evening was far more efficient. Overall a good stay, we will stay again on our next visit, but will stay in a suite.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at The Swan in Stafford for one night as part of a weekend break in December.

Having found the car park (eyes peeled for the sign!), it was easy & free to park and Reception was efficient if a little busy, at least in part because of it's location on the main route between bar and restaurant. The lift took us to our 3rd floor room which was very nice and well worth the £100 B&B rate for a Saturday night. Nice comfortable bed, large bathroom with a good shower, tea & coffee facilities and everything all very clean and well-presented. Nice strong wi-fi signal and the internet was free, as it should be!

The bar was bustling but we found a comfortable sofa to park ourselves on before we went out to a local restaurant. For those interested, a couple of local real ales were on offer. Obviously the Swan is the place to be on a Saturday night in Stafford because when we returned the place was packed with a good atmosphere evident. Quite noisy but we weren't able to hear anything from our room so no issues there.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and cooked to order, which was first-rate.

In summary, the Swan was a very good place to stay in Stafford, just be aware that it's a busy spot and noise might be an issue dependent on the location of your room. You should also be aware that if you want to eat at the hotel it's best to enquire at time of booking as they couldn't accommodate us when we booked about 10 days before arrival - not an issue for us as we found an excellent alternative nearby at Gaol Mews but I didn't think the hotel made much effort to try to fit us in somewhere which as a hotel guest was a little disappointing.

Overall a good hotel if you need to stay overnight in Stafford, once you find the car park!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've visited Stafford many times on business but never stayed at The Swan hotel there. Its a very interesting, comfortable place with a professional feel. I had heard from someone that they'd recently refurbished the hotel. I don't know if this is true, but the hall and room carpet had a luxurious spring to it, giving the guest a feeling of comfort and of being cosseted. My room was excellent ~ quite large, clean, tidy, good quality furniture. The bed was fantastic! Great big, soft mattress (none of this hard as iron stuff that a lot of hotels go for, presumably for longevity for the mattress). The bathroom was very clean, modern and looked newly furbished. Great thick towels, which is marvellous. Only gripe ~ the soap dispenser in the shower did not work properly (too late to ring down to reception, when you're in the shower and wet and naked). The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Well done to them. I thought the breakfast lady supervisor(?) was very cheery and helped to lift my hangover, from the Christmas party the night before. Interesting historical facts provided within the room. Apparently, Charles I stayed there (not recently, though). I'd be happy to stay again, if I can find it within Stafford's difficult streetplan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

great food, lovely comfortable room, good location, helpful friendly staff.
We stayed at the swan saturday 2nd december and had an evening meal at the resturant.
The swan hotel web site has a diferent sat nav post code which directs you straight to the car park at the rear of the hotel (st16 2aj). This is useful as the hotel is on the main shopping street in the centre of stafford and parking elsewhere is a pain. when you check in you get a card from reception to display on your car windscreen and park free.
We booked this trip through a late bookings website and got a good deal on the room.
The rooms are clean with a comfortable bed, satalite tv, iron, hairdryer, tea, coffee bottled water and biscuits. The bath is a decent size and the shower good.
We stayed in room 101 which is above the bar and as it gets busy on a saturday night and previous reviewers have comented about noise levels being high i was concerned. The swan website even warns about noise levels. As it turned out i could not hear a thing at night and it was a saturday night and the bar was packed - i dont know what these people are complaining about. As for the church bells in the morning i liked it - it adds a bit of character to the place.
The resturant at the swan is excellent and the staff are very efficient. We had a meal there and went to the bar next to the resturant in the swan later on and stayed there all night and had a great night. The bar is really good - loads of real ales to choose from which is good and unusual for a town centre bar and no queues as there was plenty of bar staff .
One last thing if you come to Stafford to do some shopping i would advise go elsewhere. The main street where the swan is is ok but the rest of the place is pound shops and charity shops.
i will be going back to the swan again.
hope this review is useful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
3.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
1,023 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: $100 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing