We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite the worst Thai meal I've ever had in over thirty years.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Corner Ma Ma Thai

Siam Corner Ma Ma Thai
Ranked #17 of 149 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite the worst Thai meal I've ever had in over thirty years.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The welcome and service were friendly and the ambience pleasant. The food was dreadful.
The starter sharing plate, satay chicken apart, was stodgy, oily and tasteless. The prawns weren't off, but had a powerful fishy smell.
The egg noodles were grey, slithery and curiously devoid of taste.
The sweet/sour sauced chicken (done in a batter but no mention on menu) was swimming in oil and the vegetables/peppers were flabby and overcooked.
The chicken dish, in the menu with a two-chilli caution, had precisely no chillies and zero flavour.
This is Thai food done really badly and all I can say is if Lichfield thinks this is great then eat before you visit the town or go after drink has numbed your senses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    93
    31
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's is our favourite regular restaurant in Lichfield. Always great food and a warm welcome. Really like the atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alifoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“43rd Wedding Aniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at 7.30pm and were greated at the door with a welcoming smile and shown to our table in the window. A wine list was produced and we selected a well priced red(cannot remember the name). We started with prawn crackers with a peanut and onion dip - best prawn cracker I have ever tasted - they tasted of Prawns!!. For our starter I ordered the muscles and my wife vegetable parcles - both were excellently presented. Our mains were Chicken Thai curry with fried rice for my wife and Duck stir fry for myself. Again we could not find fault they were superb. They wine was so good we ordered another bottle. For sweet I ordered Sticky rice etc and the wife Mint something.
The staff were extremely attentive but not over powering.The ambiance was good and the food was excellent and the presentation could not be faulted . We would recommend this restaurant without question. We will return!!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great start to an otherwise boozy evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We needed a place to eat during a friends stag do. We weren't after some quick fast food, but some decent food to give us a hour for a rest and relax before the drinking resumed!

Very welcoming, staff were attentive, and the food was fantastic.

I'll be returning for again with my wife for a meal out in Lichfield for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved eating here, havent eaten in a Thia restaurant worth mentioning for years and this was just magic _ Cant wait to come back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ELIZABETHJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Corner Ma Ma Thai also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Siam Corner Ma Ma Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing