We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Friendly efficent staff who booked us in quickly although we arrived when thry were very busy. The place has a real buzz about it. Obviously has a number of regulars who the landlord greeted by name. Guest enterance to the rooms made for easy unloading of luggage without having to walk through the bar.

Waiting staff very good. Food good and portions large. Great selection of cask ales. Wide selection included in the free breakfast with everything fresh and the danish pastries still warm.

Lookingforward to the the next stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

A lovely hotel, and one that we have recommended to friends over the years. But when booking a chosen table for 6 for a special evening we were taken to another table, with no explanation as to why, and and an even worse explanation when I asked the manager why.
I'm afraid we were given a few silly reasons - but the worst thing was not having an apology from the manager. The meal was not up to standard either, but the waitresses were very friendly and helpful. Not a place I will be going back to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is a real treat to stay here and the fact that I got the room for £55.00 including continental breakfast made it even more so. It is testament to this place that, when you come back after not having stayed for a while, the same friendly staff are still working there and still remember you. It must be a good place to work!

The Hedgehog is in a great location on the edge of Lichfield with wonderful grounds and views to the front. Whilst it is next to the main A51, it is not bothered too much by road noise. I find it very helpful that you don't have to drag all your luggage through the pub as you get a key with a security fob for the side door. There is free parking in a large car park and, dependent on which room you get, you will probably be able to see your car from the room. The rooms aren't the most modern looking, however, the furniture is good quality and the shower rooms are pretty new and everything is always very clean. You get a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities (with some biscuits too). There is a hairdryer and spare pillows so you don't have to go asking for them. The shower room has handwash and shower gel dispensers too. With the breakfast thrown in and free wifi you really cannot go wrong here.

The other good thing is that, as a weary traveller, you don't have to go off in search of an evening meal. Reserve a table online, when it is time, pop downstairs and have a lovely relaxing evening.

Thanks to Ron and his lovely friendly team for another fantastic stay. We will be back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building as these tend to be quieter. As it is a food led pub, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superunknown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Considering all the other Hotels in lichfield are around £80 you can pre book The Hedgehog for £55 mormally or as we have £40 and £45 dependant on how much you shop around. Clean but by no means modern a very old fashioned country feel which works well with the pub below. staff were ok, good place to stay considering the alternatives! Visited in April and August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely lunch here last week, the garden is such a lovely well kept space. Excellent parking and nice facilities.
Lovely, friendly staff, who were very helpful and gave us excellent service.
It was a really nice return visit, we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macadamia4444244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went for lunch and was surprised how quiet it was for a Saturday. Looked at the menus but mains looked a little pricey so went for a sandwich. BBQ Beef melt was disappointing as the beef was overpowered by the BBQ sauce but the Falafel was quite tasty. Both sandwiches had the option of fries or salad both of which were freshly prepared. We had a bottle of rose but that was not from the chiller and whilst served in an ice bucket, was still too warm and unfortunatley the glasses were dirty. Setting is lovely but the food quality and attention to detail don't match up to the prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

we have visited this pub/restaurant many times and we are never let down. The food is always nice with a good varied choice. There is also a good choice of beers and ales (not just the usual fare). Ron and the staff are always helpfull
Note, if you visit on a saturday, you are best to book a table as it can get very busy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMojoRisin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
355 reviews
6 mi away
Oak Tree Farm
Oak Tree Farm
#1 of 1 in Hopwas
228 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Address: Stafford Road | The Hedgehog, Lichfield WS13 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $91 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautifully restored 18th century property, this lodge provides some of the most welcoming accommodation in Lichfield. Thanks to its proximity to the M6 Toll, the M42 and the commercial hub of Birmingham, it's a convenient base for business trips.Set in its own grounds, the lodge is dripping with original features and has nine comfy rooms and a large garden. You'll also find a cosy pub offering hearty, seasonally inspired food, a great range of cask ales and a generous serving of rustic charm.Lichfield is a pretty, quintessentially English city that's probably most famous for its fantastic medieval cathedral. Begun in 1195, Lichfield Cathedral has three distinctive spires and two lovely waterside walks. There are plenty of other local attractions, though. For starters, you could learn about the father of the modern dictionary at the Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum or take a stroll through the leafy National Memorial Aboretum or Birches Valley Forest Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Vintage Hotel Lichfield
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing