We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible.......”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #10 of 153 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible.......”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at the Plough yesterday , with friends, and we all had one of the best meals ever.
The food, atmosphere , service couldn't have been better and we were made to feel very special.
Thank you Pete and Kate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Madmurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    76
    47
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

After hearing such great reviews and feedback about the refurbishment, I felt somewhat let down.

Lovely building beautifully refurbished but the prices are way to high for the mediocre standard of food served. Much better restaurants in Lichfield in my opinion for this price bracket.

Helpful?
2 Thank ChefSte91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I took my friend for her birthday treat. The car park is small. I am disabled and the only disabled parking space was occupied by the bins. This needs to be addressed as there is an area specifically for the bins and it was empty!!! We loved the interior of the pub and were shown to our table by a friendly waitress. Food was lovely and beautifully presented. The asparagus soup was homemade and delicious despite being a little under seasoned. The portion of fish and chips was huge and beautifully fresh. My friend had the tempura prawns and said they were really good. We didn't get to the desserts as we were full, but we saw them being served to other guests and they looked fab. The service was really attentive and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, We shall definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay but not blown away...”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My family and I ate here yesterday evening for my husband’s birthday. It was a lovely spring evening with lots of people milling around outside and inside at the bar. The location, the layout and the look of the place is just lovely - they really have got the balance right of modern and rustic.
There were six of us and we were seated at a round table, half of the seating on standalone chairs and the other half being a kind of padded semi-circle chair big enough for 3 people maybe more but way beyond comfortable. We were given one menu which was the “Evening” menu and made our choices. Our plates were all hot and the food piping hot. The food was ok but we were not blown away. The portion sizes are quite small and to be honest the money being charged for the dishes is not justified. The one thing I do resent is being lied to. A party of 5 women came in and were seated across from us in the restaurant during our meal. When their order was served I was surprised to see Fish and Chips, Burger and Chips..etc..etc. These items were not on our menu. When we enquired if there was another menu we were informed by the waitress that there was a “Bar” menu for food eaten in the bar – clearly this wasn’t the case. If there is more than one menu on offer and we were only shown the most expensive one then I do feel this is a little underhand. You can’t have one rule for one and another for another.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
802 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“2nd visit for Saturday lunch, really please”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our second visit here, we took our 3 year old, they put us in the private room with another table who had twins so we didn't feel funny if our daughter kicked off!

Food was absolutely spot on, I had the rib eye steak special well done, still had oodles of flavour, the pate starter was awesome.

Really good foo d and excellent service, still quite expensive 120 for the three of us but we don't mind paying extra if the food and service is spot on which it was.

Once we've saved up we will come again!

TIP: Saturday afternoons are great if you have kids, around 1:30pm, it's not very full so you don't feel you are disturbing neighbouring guests if the little ones start banging around!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing