We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food with a smile”
Review of The Causeway

The Causeway
Ranked #53 of 153 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good food with a smile”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You feel very welcomed and the food is very good quality as well as quantity. Wide range of choice.

The carvery is absolutely fantastic. Wouldn't go anywhere else in Lichfield.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Coffee”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped at Lichfield on our way home on Coach Tour on Sunday 18th August.
The sun was shining and there were seats available outside so we stopped for coffee. The service was very quick and the coffee (Lattes) was lovely. The price was very reasonable (less than £2 per cup.)
The setting was great - Tudor style houses around and a great place to 'people watch'
As the time was mid morning we did not have a meal but would definitely come here again for coffees. and ambient atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not reccomended, sorry”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We where seated quickly. The chairs, though, were uncomfortable. The service (both the wait for food and personnel) was really good, but the meals with friends not so much. My lasagne was somewhat bland, and lettece hard. My friends Pie (+ chips and peas) was better, but the pastry was hard. Overall not reccomended, sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJSebastianWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint tearoom”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We usually visit the enchanting little tea room either at the start of the day for breakfast or later in the day for hot chocolate . The staff are so friendly and the food and drink is always very high quality. This place is highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyhill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place, nice food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I live in Lichfield and work locally in the town centre. Having an early start allows me no time to prepare myself a lunch and I therefore had to source it within the town centre. The causeway, located just by minster pool, close to where I work, offers a wide range of foods. I go there most days for lunch and have had occasional takeout's, which is free delivery. The food is always presented well and hot when needed be. You can tell the food is freshly cooked and homemade. On certain days throughout the week, special offers are put on and of course you can't go wrong on Tuesday, PIE DAY! Staff always friendly and accommodating. Nice place, nice staff, nice food. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHughes95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Causeway also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing