We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and restaurant”
Review of Swinfen Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great food and super contempory large room. Arrived on Saturday evening without booking. Didnt think they could fit us in the restaurant until late so originally decided not to stay but they managed to sort something so stayed. Lovely room. Great food in restaurant. Not cheap but felt food was good value in comparison to similar graded restaurants. Nice location with good woodland walk and deer park in the grounds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Swinfen Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited Swinfen Hall for our wedding anniversary and had an excellent time. We had the taster menu in the restaurant which was truly first class; the previous month we had stayed at The Scarlet in Cornwall which has a Michelin star restaurant and we considered the Four Seasons at Swinfen to be superior. We really appreciated the fresh ingredients, exciting taste combinations and attention to detail. We loved the food so much that we stayed for Sunday lunch the next day and had another great meal. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view, the bathroom could do with a bit of updating and I would expect superior toiletries in a hotel of this standard but other than this we were very pleased.
The thing which really made our stay exceptional was the charming, friendly and helpful approach from all staff, something which cannot be guaranteed at even the best hotels and really makes a difference. Many thanks, we'll be bringing friends back soon.

Room Tip: 40% room discount when you eat in the restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We held our wedding at Swinfen Hall in early August. Whilst it was admittedly only a small affair (17 guests) the Hotel got everything spot on. Ruth, the Weddings Co-ordinator, was the epitome of friendly efficiency; everything we asked for was achieved with no fuss, question or discussion; even when our requests were rather vague she managed to interpret perfectly. All the staff we met over our time there (3 days for some of us) were, without exception, brilliant.

Bedrooms were large and well-appointed, with supremely comfortable (and very large) beds, good toiletries, gowns etc etc - everything as expected at this level and everything just right. Food was, throughout our stay, excellent - good ingredients, well cooked and beautifully presented. The Hotel as a whole is beautifully furnished - not over-the-top ostentatious, but right for the period, right for the setting and right to feel comfortable in/on. So many Hotels of this type of get these details wrong; not so here.

All in all, a fantastic day made extra special by a superb venue. Many thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor suite - worth the extra!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salopwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked last min as suprise for husband. Sayed in room 204, double with bathroom, was a good size, shower in bath, so if you wanted a bigger bathroom would advise going for a bigger room. Breakfast was VERY good, hot breakfast had everything, I had waffles. Ate in restaurant, had the taster menu, with fruit and veg from their walled garden. Good selection, summery themed menu. Good wine list for all budgets. Cocktails on the terrace over looking the deer park was lovely and all in all made for a lovely weeend break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanzarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have just had our wedding at Swinfen Hall, and have had the most fantastic time! Ourselves, friends and families were all very impressed with the quality of service, the friendliness of the staff (nothing was too much trouble) and the quality of the food, the facilities and the rooms.
Everyone at our wedding commented on what a beautiful venue it is, which is one of the main reasons why we chose it, and it didn't let us down on the day! Everywhere was clean and tidy, and the rooms and hotel in general impressed all of the guests.
We hired the hotel for exclusive use for our wedding, and whilst this isn't a cheap option by any means, we found it was more than worth it as our guests had the free run of the hotel and it meant that for our wedding the timings of both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet were pretty flexible.
The staff were all superb on the day and the following morning, and whenever we were there sorting out arrangements for the wedding on the run up to the day. On our wedding day so many of our guests commented on how great the staff were, and they were very efficient in topping up drinks and bringing out the meals. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were friendly and good humored. The management were very professional, and when there was a problem some of the desserts we had chosen for our wedding breakfast they were very apologetic and quickly and discreetly resolved the matter.
The food was beautiful, right through from the canapes to the evening buffet, and again this was something that many of our guests commented on. Those who stayed with us over night also had breakfast with us the next day, which was plentiful and lovely; there were plenty of options! The kitchen staff did a fantastic job of catering for one of our friends who is vegan, and quickly produced a lovely alternative dessert when some of the creme brulees we had chosen did not set (we had the alternative - Eton Mess - which was fantastic, and none of our guests even noticed).
With our wedding package we also had a toastmaster for the day, and we would definitely recommend this too - John, our toastmaster, was fantastic and very professional, ensuring everything ran smoothly along with the hotel staff. It really did add a special touch to the day and we were delighted with how much this service added to our overall experience.
All in all we had a faultless experience and would highly recommend it to anyone considering having their wedding there, or just going for the night. We were so impressed, as were our friends and family, and it was everything we could have wanted for our special day and more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SianBarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had our wedding lunch at Swinfen Hall on Friday 17th June.

We were only a small party but what a lavish production they gave us. Well done to all the staff.

Our overnight stay was lovely in a very nice room. Our breakfast was very good.

We couldn’t fault the place.

Room Tip: I think any of Swinfens room are good.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelloveLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We arranged to have our wedding here as it looks beautiful. We also booked the bridal suite.Everything seemed perfect until on the day-

The music system stopped working half way through th ewedding, the speakers were blown. The electric switches kept tripping so for some part of the wedding there was no electric.
The staff were rude to the guest and just kept disappearing.

THE SO CALLED BRIDAL SUITE (DOUBLE BED) TURNED OUT TO BE TWO SINGLE BEDS JOINED TOGETHER.

Breakfast was meant to be included but they said they ran out of food!!

Room Tip: Spend the money elsewhere !
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rachelhatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.5 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinfen Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $196 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield
Swinfen Hall Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing