We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch in a relaxed atmosphere”
Review of The Spark Lichfield - CLOSED

The Spark Lichfield
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This cafe never fails to impress! My sister and I had a Packington sausage sandwich and chips. Really well presented and tasty! Good portion size. Staff were friendly as always.

Helpful?
Thank shiv636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello shiv636,

Thanks for your great review - we're really appreciate the ongoing support of regulars such as yourself.

Best wishes and see you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    38
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Evening Meal”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time I had been, did not know it was there! I went with friends and parents this Saturday and had a lovely meal with attentive staff and the chef was able to make a couple of changes for us. Nice atmosphere and we were not hurried along at all. Good service with no long waits etc. in between courses - it was perfectly timed. Plenty of choices on the menu including two options

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PADDINGTONANDFRIEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello PADDINGTONANDFRIEND,

Thanks for your review, we're pleased to read you enjoyed your evening with us. We think you were going to mention veggie options before your review was cut off; we do indeed ensure two out of the six available options in each course are veggie, (as well as being able to adapt our menu to other dietary requirements).

Best wishes and see you soon!

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Spark!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I love this place. From a morning or afternoon coffee and cake to an evening of relaxation and quite simply faultless food and service, The Spark Lichfield (formerly The Spark Cafe) has everything covered. The staff could not make you feel any more welcome and nothing is too much trouble. More than willing to help with gluten free meal suggestions and with Leffe on tap little can go wrong. I celebrated my 40th here and their care and commitment to making sure the evening ran smoothly was second to none. I could not recommend them enough.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Lorna H,

Thank you for your great review. The support of regulars such as yourself is very important to us - we really appreciate it.

See you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to go - we love that it's local!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely food, great atmosphere and really friendly staff. I've been twice in 2 days - dinner last night, and coffee and snacks with the children today! Very accommodating, and so nice to find a good independent coffee shop - that also does excellent coffee, even to a very fussy coffee drinker like me!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XodosLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello XodosLtd,

Thank you for your fab review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your evening enough to come back the next day and try our day time offerings. Hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes and good luck with your new business,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best chocolate & raspberry brownies in the world!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been to Spark for breakfast and lunch before and the food is always very good...but this was my first time of an evening. It felt like we were in a friends dining room for a dinner party, so welcoming and cosy. The staff were very efficient and we didn't have to wait long in between courses. 3 courses for £20 was such good value for money, all dishes were pleasing to the eye, good size portions and no complaints from a variety ordered from the menu. For desert i had the chocolate and raspberry brownie....OMG....absolutely delicious....the best brownie i have ever tasted!!!
Thankyou Spark for a wonderful evening, I will definitely be back for an evening meal....please don't take the brownie off the menu!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kezza_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello kezza_mouse,

Wow, thank you so much for your lovely review! We were really pleased you chose us for your special evening and that a good time was had by all. We won't take brownie off the menu - it might be a different, but equally delicious flavour!

Best wishes and see you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spark Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing