We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lichfield
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good wholesome food”

The Whittington Arms
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #48 of 193 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $7 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Set on the outskirts the picturesque village of Lichfield near Whittington Village, The Whittington Arms is a peaceful country hideaway that will allow you to dine, relax and unwind in truly stylish surroundings. Serving a delicious menu of fresh seasonal dishes that have been lovingly developed by our supremely talented chefs, you’ll be able to dine in optimum comfort and style. From light bites and superb mains, through to Sunday roasts and devilishly tempting desserts, there’s sure to be something on the menu for everyone. Above all, this premium establishment sources only the very best ingredients from trusted local suppliers, so you can expect to enjoy the highest quality dishes. With its beautiful interiors, a lovely outdoor space that’s ideal for al fresco dining, and wealth of convenient amenities, step into The Whittington Arms and escape reality for an hour or two. Plenty of car parking spaces are available for those travelling by car.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit regularly as the food is great, hot and fairly priced. The staff are helpful and very friendly. Comfortable seating and pleasant surroundings.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anick1tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Whittington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Anick1tc, your wonderful feedback, and rating mean a lot to us. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every 6 week we out without sister and brother In law we like to try places we have not been wow beautiful place, food was absolutely delicious very nice indeed made us feel very welcome and the staff were polite and professional nothing was too much trouble we will certainly go back again

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 594christinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Whittington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 594christinem, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Whittington Arms. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to this restaurant. We were quite a large party and the area we were put was ideal, slightly out of the way of the main area.
Were greeted on arrival and shown to our table by a lovely lady who was friendly and pleasant. Service was good, drinks arrived reasonably quickly and also food. One meal had to go back as was not very warm but came back piping hot! See bass was cooked perfectly. Everyone was happy with the main meals from a cooking point of view but all agreed the portion sizes were not big enough. Menu is good with plenty of choice for mains and desserts but you really need to have starters as well to feel your appetite was satisfied! I would say it is slightly overpriced for the portion sizes but would consider returning as the food was itself well cooked and presented, Ambience and decor was lovely, a mixture of traditional and modern in style.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Susanelaine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good but over priced i had salmon on broccoli for £15 potatoes were extra!! The drinks were expensive too. Lovely for somewhere special but not just a catch up.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sharon280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Whittington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Whittington Arms. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
The Whittington Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food lovely but Salmon and broccoli meal was overpriced. At £14.50 the dearest meal we had but by far the smallest portion. We then had a mini puds with coffee. Two of the puds were great but the deconstructed cheesecake was a generous portion of white chocolate but the crumble and filling were so mini they were almost non existant!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 741jacquiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whittington Arms also viewed

 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Whittington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing