We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locatio, friendly staff and a fabulous breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The cathedral lodge in a good location. The room we had on the second floor was roomy and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and the cooked breakfast was the best we had had.The hotel was well placed for a visit to the cathedral and all local amenities. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junebloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for The Cathedral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 379 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped in Lichfield to break the long journey to Oxford and our original hotel could not accommodate us. This little hotel was just up the hill from Lichfield's lovely cathedral and was really quite near the main shopping streets. We were offered champagne at breakfast which was quite unexpected all in all this was a lot better than the rate we paid.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel and it was very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a great hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a bit of a problem with our booking (not the hotels fault) and were upgraded to a premier room. The room was lovely and such a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice and a free glass of champagne if required. The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the town centre and attractions.
This hotel would suit anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me and my now husband had our wedding reception here on the 10th of may 2014 We cannot thank the staff enough for all they did for us.Highly recommedned hotel.Food was outstanding,hotel very clean and staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I arrived in Lichfield by train so I was pleased that the walk to the hotel was both a short one and a straightforward one. i was only stopping the one night but this hotel would be perfect for seeing the sights in Lichfield as it is close to the Town Centre but also quiet because it's not right in the middle of the centre; a perfect balance! The price of the room included bed and breakfast and was much cheaper than some of the other Lichfield hotels I had looked at. The room and hotel in general were clean and the facilities were lovely, I loved that there was a lot of storage space in the room. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, especially the woman who checked me in when I arrived, she was lovely and answered all my questions. All in all it was a lovely stay and I was sad not to stay longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Cathedral Lodge for the first time in several years (it was previously the Little Barrow Hotel) for one night en route to a family gathering. The welcome was warm and friendly, even including a complimentary drink at the bar. The room was clean, a reasonable size and the bathroom was refurbished with an excellent shower. Breakfast hit the spot to round off the stay perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_ChrisBracknell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the last minute , staff are very welcoming and friendly, food was loverly and a good portion. Maybe required a bit updating but not put of visiting again the room I had was clean with a comfortable bed. All sport channels available which is a plus for me only one bad point is the head porter / manger he was making the other staff feel small by moaning about everything which should not be done on front of customers he does seem to the odd one out ...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
341 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
108 reviews
6.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a restaurant. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield,just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
The Cathedral Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing