We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are the true stars of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a reunion weekend, Our rooms were large comfortable and clean, it was a very warm weekend and the road outside is noisy until but not through the night. We ate in the restaurant quite early which was lucky as Lichfield had a power cut just after our starters arrived. This is when the staff came in to their own. First they assured us they would be able to provide food even if it wasn't our first choice. They offered everyone in the restaurant a free drink while they tried to sort things out, fortunately the power returned quite soon and we all got our food eventually. The staff just kept on going with smiles all round. Yes this hotel is a bit frayed around the edges but if you need an affordable hotel with lovely staff this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMudefordDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 402 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my child stopped over night at this hotel and decided to have dinner in the restaurant. We both had lasagne. It arrived stone cold so we sent it back, it then come back burnt around the edges and full of fat!! So we complained again the staff were rude and spoke to me and my son like it was our falt!!! This place needs a new manager A.S.A.P because who ever is managing it at the minute ain't got a clue!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natashacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgecathedral, Manager at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review however there are a few details you forgot to mention, you were given an alternative meal free of charge, free ice cream for your son and complimentary drinks. I disagree with your comment about the staff being rude; all of our reviews on trip advisor are about how friendly and welcoming our staff are. The person on duty that night is one of the most helpful members of staff I have and I fail to see how he could be rude to anyone. You were well looked after.
I believe you stayed previously and had an issue with your TV which was solved straight away. I have also been informed that when the particular member of staff went to your room your partner was very rude to him. Should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail please contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the cathedral lodge whilst attending my nieces wedding party. The staff were excellent, the function room looked fantastic and the DJ played a good selection of tunes to cater for everyone. We didn't have the earlier sit down meal but were told it was top class. Buffet was nice, good selection of party foods etc.

Room was clean and spacious, we asked to be moved to the far end of the hotel away from the party and were gladly accommodated.

The Breakfast was EXCELLENT, freshly cooked to order full english, plenty of filtered coffee, although we didn't have any there was a fair range of continental stuff + serials.

Overall the stay was most enjoyable, yes there were little areas that could be improved upon but nothing I feel strongly about to even mention !

Recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted with real warmth from the hotel stafff. checking in was easy and simple and fuss free. Car parking secure at back of hotel and overflow opposite. We were shown to our room that were clean and airy. full bottles of shampoo etc and bright white towels. We popped into the town for some shopping and choose return for our evening meal. Ordered evening meal (would recommend the steak or the hunters chicken) friendly service once again then took drinks though to the bar. Prompt service, bar stayed open even at 3am!!

Breakfast was served in the restaurant with a choice of continental or English breakfast. They also offer complimentary champagne breakfast on weekends.

Checking out again was simple and fuss free. overall i would highly recommend a stay at the cathedral lodge with its warm welcome and staff that are efficient and able.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here recently and was a bit put off by the very shabby exterior and horrid 70s decor in the reception and bar areas. However, our room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Only slight gripe was the shower was a bit on the chilly side. Soap, shampoo and conditioner provided and lovely fluffy towels. Menu very basic and certainly not a la carte but nicely cooked. Don't eat here if you are on a diet though - portions were huge. The nicest thing about the hotel is the staff. Very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even though there seemed to be a bit of a staff shortage when we stayed. Breakfast was fabulous.
Only reason this does not get a 5 star is because of the dire need for refurbishment to reception, restaurant and bar. Thank you, though, to all the staff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minuit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the Cathedral Lodge several times while on business. Hotel is about 10 mins walk from Centre. Ample free parking. Rooms vary, some are large and pleasant, some a bit small, but all are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good and evening meals are available in the bar if you can't be bothered to go into town. The rooms on the front of the hotel are probably the largest, but suffer from road noise, especially if you open the windows. All in all, a reasonably priced hotel and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

First impressions of this tired looking hotel were soon forgotten about by the very friendly welcome to this hotel. The building deserves the 3 star rating for its tired decoration but the staff deserve 5stars. The rooms are warm, clean & comfortable. Only negative is no lift (rooms over 3 floors).
The hotel is ideally located to wander to the nearby (5 minutes walk... downhill) picturesque cathedral & delightful city centre (12 minutes walk... downhill).
The National Memorial Arboretum is only 35 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel direct and ask?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemelGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
356 reviews
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
118 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $60 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral is a family owned and run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function and conference facilities and a 24 hour licensed bar. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield, just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent Cathedral, and our exceptional friendly staff will ensure that you receive a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
The Cathedral Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing