We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COuldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“COuldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked the hotel as we were going to a wedding in the area. I ended up sorting out a few different rooms with a variety of night stays. The hotel were brilliant, very helpful and nothing seemed like too much trouble.
We checked in and had out evening meal there in the bar. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, the food was fantastic and plenty of it.
We had a champagne breakfast the following morning and headed off to the wedding, I'd booked the bridal suite for the bride and groom as well, the hotel made sure everything was ready for when we got back after the receptions.
Again the breakfast was epic. We sorted out stuff out and checked out which again was absolutely perfect and as we were leaving one of the staff brought us a couple bottles of water to have on our journey home, We were admittedly slightly rough from the previous night.
I would honestly recommend this hotel to any one, it was all the little touches, the customer service was beyond perfect, the rooms were well appointed and comfortable and the food was very tasty. So yeah all in all 10 out of 10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    121
    40
    19
    13
See reviews for
40
132
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Have had another lovely stay in this hotel,upgraded for £10 more with a bottle of champagne in our room which was very big and roomy with a sofa in it, staff are so friendly and helpful, breakfast is cooked beautiful, but there is also cereals, ham and cheeses, yogurts and fresh fruit for you to help yourself to, look forward to visiting again in the new year.

Room Tip: Busy road outside if you have a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Cathedral Lodge after attending a party for a family friend there. Run down exterior and interior throughout. The staff were friendly though and is a large space for a party just not for that extra special event. The buffet wasn't gourmet but filled a hole and the proximity into Lichfield City centre is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldLady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Would definitely go back again. My friend and I had lovely welcome. We arrived late evening but nothing was to much trouble and cooked us a lovely meal. The room was very good and had wi fi which was invaluable to my friend,as she was over from Australia and keeping in touch with her family was important. It would be a good base for touring around the area. I would definitely go back again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varneyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have been staying for long in hotel. one of the most thing i like about hotel is staff and their services. Staff was friendly and always ready to help. even they are taking care of small things of every guest.
i have never seen so friendly behaviour in any other hotel.
Breakfast was good and free wine on weekend breakfast :-).
Rooms are clean. bathrooms are spacious. Beds are very comfortable, atleast i had good sleep on everynight.
Free wifi and speed is excellent.
what morei expect from any hotel? atleast, i felt home away from home....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been staying here for years. We travel to Lichfield to visit family and the Cathedral Lodge is always where we stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful, they almost recognise us now, even though it is six months between visits. Rooms are modest, but well appointed. Breakfasts are always a treat. Extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Courteous staff but that is all. Shabby, tired hotel ready for a full refurbishment. Our room at the front was noisy, the window would not close, dirty shower curtain, no soap, shower did not work, only one light worked above the bed, whole room was tatty. We reported this to reception who apologised and said we should have told them about the shower and light when we arrived, but we did not use either until later that evening when it all seemed too much trouble. Surely the rooms should be checked BEFORE guests arrive? This hotel needs someone to take charge, give it a complete facelift and maintain the standard. We would never stay there again.

Room Tip: no idea as we only had access to our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western The George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Lodge Hotel

Property: Cathedral Lodge Hotel
Address: Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Little Barrow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral Lodge Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a superb restaurant. Set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield, Staffordshire's premier heritage city just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield
Cathedral Lodge Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing