We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Room But Otherwise FIne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our only disappointment was with the room (No 62). Going into it, it was very unwelcoming. It was very small for a double room, and would be more suited to a single bed. It was stifling hot in the room and it took some time to cool it down. The floorboards of the room above creaked and we heard these when those occupants were walking around up to 3:30am.
Otherwise, we enjoyed the hotel and its facilities and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that room 62 was not to your liking and please be assured that your comments are important to us as we improve service and quality. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Booked family bank holiday lunch, but disappointed with carvery , roast potatoes didn't seem home cooked, meat was dry. Dessert was worse, ordered a sundae which had very little ice cream and the fruit salad was tiny and served without cream. We were going to plan to visit for the evening bistro which has recently opened but reluctant now as it is quite on the pricey side. Staff were very helpful though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lichlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your review of our carvery restaurant. I offer my most sincere apologies that the food served was not to the desired standard. We always receive excellent feedback on our lunchtime meals but unfortunately on this occasion we did not achieve the standard I expect. Our new restaurant, Darwin's at The George, is open from 6pm each evening where we offer a very different style of food to the traditional carvery that has long since been associated with the Hotel. We believe the prices are very competitive and do hope that you will choose to try the evening menu in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We chose The George at Lichfield for a family reunion. It is in a great location and perfect to visit this lovely city. However one of our party booked a single room 2 weeks before our visit and on the day before arrival was advised the hotel was overbooked. Despite explaining the reason for our trip his booking was cancelled. He was offered 2 alternative hotels, one in the outskirts of Lichfield and one centrally located, both cheaper than The George. He declined to stay in alternative accommodation as we all wanted to be in the same place. It meant various trains and taxis instead, a very disappointing experience. Those of us that did stay had the noise from the night club opposite which on a Saturday night continued well into the early hours of Sunday morning. The hotel has recently been decorated so looks good, however our experience has made sure we won't return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. I offer my most sincere apologies that we had to find alternative accommodation for your friends booking. Please be assured I have investigated the reasons why this happened and have put into place a training plan to alleviate such problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lichfield is a lovely, very small city and well worth a visit. The George Hotel is centrally located with a large carpark. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we did not notice much noise, even over a weekend. There was enough choice at the buffet style breakfast and the bar was pleasant place for a nightcap. All the staff were delightful. Would recommend the George.

Room Tip: The superior room had a separate "lounge" so more room but not sure it would have been wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The George. We are extremely pleased your enjoyed yourselves and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Lichfield, with its central position. On the two nights we were there we had a lovely comfortable room, the staff were friendly and helpful, food was great. If we go back we would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. Once again it is pleasing to read another positive report on the bedroom, staff and central location. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

George hotel is everything it says on the label, very good, comfortable, helpful staff and central to the lovely town of Lichfield well worth a visit. Downside was we were not advised the kitchen and restaurant would be closed for refurb for a week on from the day we arrived, but many restaurant's nearby. Also a great base for visiting the National Arboretum which I would recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful sometimes moving but enjoyable day out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your very good review. My apologies that you were not informed of the restaurant refurbishment and hope that you visit us again to see our new Darwin's at The George evening dinner menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
348 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,744 reviews
9.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $74 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel Staffordshire
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing