We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really? Are we in the dark ages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really? Are we in the dark ages”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Due to motorway delays I was quite late checking in as part of a series of nights away for work. My room was on the second floor and certainly in need of modernisation.

The heater blows out aid with a hint of warmth, but makes the noise of the truck, there is an additional electric heater, but it's not up to the job of heating the whole room - not a great combination for a good night sleep. This doesn't fit with a hotel that is striving to care for the environment.

I ordered a room service dinner - the jacket was microwaved and looked like it had seen better days.

Not really what I expect in a BW hotel - next I will go for a mainstream chain hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Twink_Toes_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am extremely disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I apologise for the frustration and annoyance this must have caused. Please be assured your comments have been discussed with my management team to solve such problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    376
    151
    46
    44
See reviews for
127
446
39
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had a special birthday party in the Garrick suite for 75 guests, the room was well laid out with a small stage as requested, starter served at the table followed by a hot buffet, couldnt have asked for better quality and choice. A number of guests stayed the night and they all commented on the quality of the rooms and especially the breakfast. Many thanks to Phil and his staff for , nothing was to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midscamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this historical town's centrally located resturant and stayed in a lovely 'quaint' room with a very large, but slightly soft bed.
The bathroom was spacious and clean with all you might need.
The mini bar was well stocked, but quite pricey with water being more expensive than cola.
Breakfast was wonderful - fresh and tasty!
Great customer service by staff.
Cheap enough to stay a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: try to get a room that is not road-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniBennett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited The George Hotel on a one night stay as we were going to The Garrick Theatre on arrival we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist check in was very fast , we received an upgrade on our room to a four poster bed , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay its central position was fantastic would recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 873Lesleynash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merstham, Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The George surpassed our expectations - it was clean, had all the right extras (tea/coffee making facilities, free wi-fi, guest pc, aircon, shoe cleaner, etc) and which worked. The bedroom was on the small side, as one would expect of an old inn, but it did have a proper bathroom with bath/shower and not just a skinny shower cubicle. As it was Christmas and there is no real competition locally, I feared a minimal and possibly off-hand service; but the staff were plentiful, friendly and professional. The cooked breakfast was a treat as the choice included black pudding and fried bread. Lichfield is a delightfully English "City" the size of a town with plenty of various restaurants, and this hotel fits its character completely. Definitely very good value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABdeMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My room (double) was located on the second floor it was facing the main pedestrian street, which was opposite the late bar, however the window was double glazed so I didn't have any problems with noise. The room was fairly small but well equipped, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was again on the small side but perfectly adequate. The staff in the hotel were friendly and the bar area welcoming. Breakfast was buffet style with a choice of cereals, some fruit and a full English which you helped yourself to. The location of this hotel is great and in the centre of town. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel with about 40 spaces I believe, but if you cannot get a space there is a paid car park just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, Birmingham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked on line for a Christmas lunch at this hotel as a little pre-Christmas treat. We were very impressed with a cosy hotel lobby and very friendly hotel staff. We had been Christmas shopping and it was lovely to come into a warm friendly hotel from the heavy blustery weather outside. Cost £20 and tea and cakes and sandwiches were served very shortly. Nice sandwiches brei cheese and cranberry, turkey and stuffing and smoked salmon.Cakes were mincepies, chocolate yule log and Christmas cake. Large pot of tea for 2 and a pleasant quiet cosy atmosphere made the afternoon very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England (Formerly Best Western The George Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel Staffordshire
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing