We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with our stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for Saturday/Sunday nights when we came up to visit family as we couldn't stay with our usual family member. Very easy to book online, we had a non-smoking twin room which included breakfast and the cost was very reasonable, we thought. The room was clean and in good condition and the staff exceptionally polite and helpful - they really were a credit to themselves and the chain. You could get a limited range of bar snacks 24/7 and the bar prices themselves were reasonable. Breakfast was basic but with a good choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and pastries with a limited hot menu. The only disappointment was the meal we had on the Saturday night at Frankie & Bennys but that's hardly the Holiday Inns fault! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would stay with us again in the future.

I shall pass on your feedback to Frankie and Benny's as we like to ensure all aspects of our guests stays with us are positive. We shall be introducing an evening meal menu into the hotel very shortly, so make sure you come and stay with us again soon to sample this!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    178
    94
    26
    17
See reviews for
128
134
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst we visited Drayton Manor Theme Park. Ideal location,! McDonalds and a Frankie and Bennies on site as they only do light snacks at the hotel.
Rooms were comfy,staff were great....
Free breakfast was great too,something for everyone.
Would I stay again? Indeed I would :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I certainly hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Don't forget to book in advance for the Best Available Rates!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and it was a most comfortable and well cared for hotel. Staff were efficient and concerned to do well. Recommended. A pity that there is not really good evening meal catering nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It is always a pleasure to read how my team have impacted our guests stay through great service.

We will shortly be introducing a limited menu into the hotel which may be of interest to you. Please speak to reception who will be happy to provide you with further details.

We hope that you come and stay with us again soon!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on short notice trip. They had a great value deal. Perfect for a last minute booking where we weren't really spending much time at the hotel itself. Easy quick drive into town an surrounds. Room fine, basic & clean. Staff really friendly & very very helpful - even more so than the average upmarket hotel - congrats to them. Breakfast was surprisingly included even on our low rate - however was pretty rudimentary. Our room was on the quieter side, facing the gym & Frankie's - I suspect the rooms on the road side might be a bit noisier. Would happily stay here again if needed to.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the Frankie/Gym side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluspark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your short stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

Your feedback is very important to us and I am pleased that you found the hotel to meet your requirements. I will pass on your comments to my team and I am sure that they will be delighted to hear that you have taken the time to comment on their service to you.

We certainly hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, that you choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield. Remember to book at least 21 days in advance to get the best deals!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Holiday Inn was easy to find, conveniently located near to Frankie and Benny's, breakfast was included in the cost of our rooms. The breakfast had a range of different foods available including hot and cold selections and was served during reasonable times. The room was clean, and I was amazed at the size and amount of free space we had in it. The bathroom was cleverly laid out so that the 1 door could function as a door to either the entire bathroom, or just the toilet, meaning that it was more versatile. One of you could use the loo, whilst leaving the sink and shower area useable convenient as we stayed to attend a friends wedding so I took ages to get ready. There was quite alot of storage space too. The room was very clean, including carpet, beddign, towels and the entre bathroom. The room was also warm - which I thought wa excellent as I have poor circulation and am normally cold everywhere, but someone who prefers the cool would probably feel too hot. The only small issue we had, (which was my fault really) is that I forgot a pair of hiking shoes. I contacted reception when I realised 2 days later. They weren't able to find them or tell me what had happened to them. Which was quite dissapointing as they were very comfy shoes and replacing them will cost as much as a 1 night stay! As we are fairly local, just staying so attending the wedding was a little easier, I would have driven back to pick them up myself if found rather than them having to post them. However they couldn't be found. Reception were very polite, just a mystery where they could have gone!

Room Tip: Where was a dramatic difference in noise depending upon which side you were on. We were on the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our services matched your needs. I certainly hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, that you choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield again.

I am sorry to hear that you lost your boots whilst staying with us. They are logged in our diary as being lost and should they be found we will contact you.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excellent, rooms very clean and well equipped, breakfast included at the price, found staff to be very friendly and helpful, one slight problem the hotel is close to a busy roundabout, which serves a couple of major roads, with windows closed the noise is much reduced or take earplugs

Room Tip: Try to get on side away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fordzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am delighted to read your feedback of the hotel and hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate next time you make a reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield to ask the reservationist to reserve a room that is away from the road for you. We aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We hope that you come and stay with us again soon!

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here following a wedding nearby and it served its purpose fine. It was basic as you might expect but it was clean and actually had something I always long for - a selection of different sized pillows (purposefully labelled) so you can get the right thickness to match your taste! I arrived after midnight and had to change rooms but this was done very quickly and courteously by friendly staff. I skipped the breakfast so cant comment but it looked fine if again quite basic. It's obviously never going to be the Hilton as it's about a third of the price but I think it's good value for money. When I changed rooms my new room was a bit noisy as it was by the road but I just used earplugs. There was also a good flat screen TV. If you want a lovely boutique hotel to lounge about in, don't book this. If you want a cheap, friendly, efficient but basic room then do!
Oh and it has a great bar! Everyone went back there after the wedding and was fun and open late

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraRT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield. I am happy to see that you overall enjoyed your short stay with us and found the hotel to be efficient.

Should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, hopefully you be able to enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kindest Regards



Carla Barratt
General Manager

Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing