We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel.....execeptional quality”
Review of St Johns House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Johns House
Ranked #2 of 10 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We got married in Lichfield on the 4th September 2010, we got ready and stayed at St Johns House and it was perfect from start to finish. We selected venues all in walking distance on Bird Street and started and finished with St John’s House and were not disappointed. Johann was an amazing host; we received service above and beyond expectations. The room was beautiful, immaculate and both boutique and homely. The breakfast was just what was required with bacon sandwiches cooked to perfection! In a lot of travelling and staying at different hotels this is by far the nicest place we have stayed and even though we only live 20 miles away we shall make sure we find regular excuses to stay here again. Simply perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJCLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank-you for your review, and I will get around to putting bacon sandwiches on the menu! Johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 282 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have reason to stay in Lichfield quite frequently for business and always stay at St Johns as the standard of everything it offers is simply unparralled . The rooms are stunning but at the same time are enormously welcoming and practical ( lots of spare plugs easily accessible etc )

For anyone intending to stay in Lichfield St Johns is situated very much in the centre of the town and extremely close to both the railway station and the Garrick theatre ( 5 mins walk at most to either )

Johanns hospitality has been commented on at length by others and in essence all I can do is endorse in full all the comments made . He makes all guests feel incredibly welcome whether you are there for one night or are a frequent business traveller .

I travel frequently for business and along with others am a frequent user of B&B's for personal use also . St Johns is unique in how welcome you will feel and how attentative Johann is to detail .

I am a city soul but I have become incresingly captivated by Lichfield . In addition to the Cathedral and the Theatre it has some excellent restaurants and shops . If you do have reason to come to the area then St Johns is without doubt the very best place to stay in Lichfied .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueGrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

What more can I say other than thank-you, I look forward to your next visit. Johann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Johann Popp has transformed historic stables into a paradise. Everything about this Inn is perfect. Our Terrace room was spacious, beautiful, comforting and immaculate. The bed, famous by now on Trip Advisor, was amazing. And Johann's breakfast, where do we start??.....First, by saying that Nothing is too much for Johann! We enjoyed five nights and five of his wonderful morning meals. From day one, he remembered our preferences: ice water, coffee, how are eggs and meats are done. One day, my husband commented on an unusual fruit on his fruit platter....It was "Sharon fruit." You guessed it, every day there was an ample supply of Sharon fruit! Johann shops locally for all his produce, fish and meats and the results, combined with the fact that he is an wx master butcher and chef, shine through. All of the above presented on white linen with china and silver. Oh, did I mention fresh flowers in the room and the most luxurious toiletries??! But, the best part of all.......Gaining Johann as a dear friend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainlinemadelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Thank-you for your comments, I hope all is well at home. You have started a new craze here of Maple syrup on everything! Johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

A fantastic find in Lichfield.
Excellent rooms which are better appointed than most premium hotels.
The warm welcome from Johann and locally sourced breakfast add perfectly to what is already a superb hotel.
Johanns' home made sausages and home cured bacon are delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewHinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

I don't know how, but I missed off saying thank-you for your review, so thank-you, and I hope to see you again. Johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I have spent the last 5 years working in Lichfield and waiting for a decent hotel to arrive......and here it is. St John's House is just what Lichfield needs. Fantastic modern spotless rooms, splendid breakfasts, perfect location and an extremely helpful and friendly owner, Johann. I booked this for my colleague from the United States, Judy, and she can't say enough good things about it and she can't wait to come back in September! From now on this will be my only recommendation to people who want to stay in Lichfield. Thank you Johann. Lara

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griff34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

You are welcome anytime, and, of course, Judy. Thank-you.
Johann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, Owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbothy, owner at St Johns House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
388 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
9.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House

Address: St John Street, Lichfield WS13 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed stables house our 5 Star luxury bedrooms all with hand made Vi-Spring beds. Breakfast is taken across the courtyard in the dining room of historic St. Johns House. 100 metres from The Garrick theatre and little more to all of Lichfields charms. Our breakfasts are becoming legendry only equalled by our service. St. Johns House... Traditionally Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St Johns House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Johns House Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing