We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Netherstowe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherstowe House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elegant afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We met with relatives for a pre-Christmas get-together over afternoon tea. The setting was even more cosy and elegant than I had hoped and the service was exceptional. Great choice of teas accompanied by dainty sandwiches, scrumptious cakes and scones. The service was attentive but we did not feel at all hurried and were able to linger all afternoon. Additional pots of tea were included in the price. We later moved into the lounge area for coffee before an early evening drive home. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    75
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
181
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My Apple Maps app met its match trying to find this venue (detour via Curborough!) but once there service and atmosphere were superb. I was however a little underwhelmed by the food. Though choosing is surely part of a night out this was missing as we had been required to make choices when booking, and my pork was disappointing, lacking crackling that actually crackled, while my tart seemed overcooked. Veg too was strangely bland though looked great. Drinks very good, and excellent service continued until we left. If the bar not set so high so by venue itself (and better meal in a Manchester pub last week) I probably would have hardly noticed the ordinariness of the food.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StaffordSteve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherstoweHouse, Manager at Netherstowe House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. At Netherstowe House we are committed to a timeless tradition of personal hospitality. I am therefore delighted that you experienced both superb service and atmosphere throughout the duration of your stay. I am however sorry that our food did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We care deeply about the quality of our cuisine and real quality, we believe, is great tasting local food that is produced with consideration for the environment, care for animal welfare and respect for the people who work with us to supply it. We are proud to have sourced the pork for your main course from the award winning Packington Pork Free Range Farm, located just seven miles from Netherstowe House, and slow-roasted this for a delicious tender texture. The panache you ordered comprised seasonal buttered vegetables simply cooked to order whilst the tasty homemade Hazelnut Tart is baked everyday in the kitchen by our wonderful chefs. As advised at time of booking, we do not have a banqueting kitchen at Netherstowe House. Large parties such as yours are therefore served the same individually prepared dishes as our À la carte guests but as we are unable to prepare a variety of different dishes at the same moment we kindly ask that you pre-order for the whole party from the private dining menu making allowance for those who have special dietary requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Four of us were visiting The Good Food Show at the NEC and our friends booked this hotel. I looked at the reviews and checked the website and it all sounded good. But nothing you read or see can do justice to this very special place!
Obviously the owner has a gift for interior decor. Each room has a unique quality of its own and great thought has gone into special little touches.
We were in the Garrick and our friends in the Minster Suite which was a little larger. Both were beautiful, clean and well equipped.
The meal we enjoyed in the restaurant was excellent, good menu choices, all well presented and flavoursome.
Breakfast was also very enjoyable and made extra special by two lovely young girls who served us.
I could go on and on but I really want you to get the same pleasure out of discovering every inch of Netherstowe House that I did! It's quirky and beautiful and I just can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: As we were checking out they offered to show us a couple of the other rooms - the Captains and the J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed 3 times at Netherstowe House and been impressed every time. All communications from the hotel after booking were clear and polite. You are greeted when you arrive and shown to your room. Each room in the main hotel has a distinct style in keeping with the period of the property. But that is not to say it is too old fashioned, the bathrooms are modern and the rooms have all the mod cons. There's tea & coffee in the rooms and they bring you fresh milk. There is free wifi and they thoughtfully provide the username and password in the room so you don't need to ask for it.

I have stayed in the Minster Suite; a lovely large room but the bathroom is a bit small, the Garrick Room; a large and pretty room with a very large bathroom, and the Seward Room; one of the cheaper rooms, but still larger than most hotels. The breakfast in the dining room was lovely, as were the surroundings. The cellar provided a tasty steak dinner served by some of the friendliest waiting staff I have ever encountered, and room service was prompt and delicious.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone staying in the Lichfield area. It is truly a little gem and the staff are simply wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooze_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at Netherstowe House celebrating a friends 60th birthday. What a wonderful find! The hotel is a lovely old mill house with modern extension. Our party took over all the bedrooms in the older part.The rooms are all beautiful and individual, and we were lucky enough to have the lovely Johnson Room with it's huge bath with wall mounted TV above.

The service was impeccable from the moment we were greeted in the car park until the moment we left. All members of staff were very attentive, friendly and paid great attention to detail.(We even saw the fringes of a rug being combed back into position !!!!) When we discovered that my son had forgotten his cufflinks I asked if they had such a thing as a spare pair and about 20 minutes later a pair arrived in a smart box. I believe that a member of staff had gone home and got them! Absolutely amazing.

Our party was great fun and the hotel staff looked after us really well, knowing when to leave us alone and unobtrusively serving us and clearing. The food was also very good.

The whole ambience of the hotel is exceptional and we really did feel as if it was a "home from home". We were all very reluctant to leave and will certainly return. Thank you Netherstowe.

Room Tip: All rooms in the old building were lovely. We would recommend the Johnson, which is large and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We held my Mum's 60th birthday dinner at Netherstowe House and it was a fabulous experience. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, anticipating our needs before we knew we had them, and even sending staff home to bring in their own cuff links when one of our guests had forgotten theirs! They also went out of their way to support me in the surprises I wanted to arrange for Mum!

Rooms were beautiful, food was great, decor in the place as a whole was both immaculate and full of interesting things to look at!

Only reason why this place doesn't get five out of five is that the shower wasn't powerful at all, and it was far too hot! Other than that, an amazing stay, and we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossom1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a pleasant hotel with very go dinning,we had a really nice meal served by pleasant staff.
The sitting area is very welcoming with really comfy seat where you can enjoy a pre dinner drink and when you have had your meal you can relax there before you leave or got to your room for a really good night sleep.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the hotel and then go into Lichfield to visit the many attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
2.3 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherstowe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherstowe House Hotel

Property: Netherstowe House Hotel
Address: Netherstowe Lane | Off The Millpond, Lichfield WS13 6AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Netherstowe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own quiet grounds, Netherstowe House is a Grade II Listed Boutique Hotel. Our estate, which comprises a Country House, Fine Dining Restaurant, Contemporary Serviced Apartments and ample private car parking, achieves a rare combination of character, delicious food and friendly professional staff with an unswerving commitment to customer care. Originally built in 1180, Netherstowe House is a retreat like none other. History is present in every aspect of your stay, hand in hand with 21st century standards of service and facilities. The secluded property has delightful grounds with established trees, shrubs and a peaceful walled garden, ideal for aperitifs or al fresco relaxation. Guests can also enjoy complimentary WiFi and the private gymnasium during their stay as well as many stylishly decorated public rooms including the tranquil lounge with comfy sofas, open fire and daily newspapers, cheese and wine cellar, private dining room or bar which plays host to an extensive wine menu, classic cocktail list and the 'world's best three whiskies'. The restaurant is open to residents and non-residents for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, but booking is essential - including afternoon tea as our scones and cakes are freshly baked to order. Netherstowe House is located in the heart of England. Our private complex is situated on the north side of the Cathedral city of Lichfield, ideal for visiting many attractions including the NEC, The National Memorial Arboretum, Lichfield Cathedral, Alton Towers, Belfry Golf Course, Drayton Manor Park, Thomas Land, Tamworth Snow Dome, Curborough Sprint Course, Heart of the Country, Cannock Chase, Derbyshire Dales, National Forest, NIA, Symphony Hall, ICC, Sutton Park, Cadbury World and West Midland Safari Park. Our hotel is family run with a long standing team, resulting in truly professional service with a personal, relaxed, warm and caring style. Whether it be for the first time, or as a returning visitor, we look forward to welcoming you to Netherstowe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Netherstowe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherstowe House Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing