We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful house, bang in the middle of Wells”
other travelers have booked this property
Living/Dining/Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/Dining/Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining.Living Kitchen/Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Living/Dining/Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining.Living
Kitchen/Dining
Kirchen/Dining
Bathroom
View from Living Room
Twin Bedroom
Wet room. Restricted headroom due to sloping ceiling
Entrance to Bishops Mews
Entrance to Bishops Mews
Townhouse
Small Patio Area
May Day on Cathedral Green
Wells Heritage Walks
Wells Cathedral
Glastonbury Tor
Resident Swans at Bishops Palace
Open Countryside nearby
Bishops Palace and Moat
Bishops Palace
Moated Bishops Palace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Flyer6427...
2 reviews
“Convenient & quiet”
Reviewed April 29, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

2 Bishops Mews was conveniently placed in the centre of Wells yet quietly tucked away. This was the main reason we booked it. It meant not having to get the car out in order to explore which was good because the designated car parking was very tight & took some skilful manoeuvring to get in & out of. This is mentioned in the advertised details.
The 2 bedrooms are a good size so it would have been nice to have had a king size bed rather than the double. The bedrooms are on the top floor along with a ‘wet room’ which unfortunately was pretty much unusable due to extreme height restrictions. This meant trips up & down stairs between the bedroom & the main bathroom on the lower floor.
Nice comfy sofas.

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2019
Hi Sharon
Sorry the property did not live up to your expectations and thank you for submitting a review which is appreciated.

Regards

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile237...
1 review
“A wonderful house, bang in the middle of Wells”
Reviewed March 14, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

A wonderful house, bang in the middle of Wells. Clean, well furnished and perfect for a family weekend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2019
Thank you for the lovely review.. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and everything was comfortable for you.
Kind regards
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G
1 review
“Lovely Mews Cottage”
Reviewed November 27, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Beautifully furnished accommodation with everything that we could possibly need.
Comfortable and very clean and an excellent location right in the centre of Wells

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2018
Thank you Laura for you review and also your note in my ‘comments book’ regarding the ease of parking. Much appreciated.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarissa...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed September 9, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was a wonderful find - beautifully decorated and well equipped house.
The location was perfect too, back enough to be quiet but just an alley away from the town.
The parking space was tight as mentioned but we got our medium to large car in with some careful reversing.
A great base to explore wells, Cheddar, woolly hole etc.
We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate feedback which also helps others to choose us. So pleased you enjoyed your stay

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try to make it comfortable and relaxing for our guests.

look forward to welcoming you again.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaski
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern town house in the heart of Wells”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The location just off Wells High Street is central yet very quiet. On-site car parking is a bonus. All local attractions, as well as shopping, pubs, restaurants, etc, are just a short walk away. The accommodation is modern and tastefully furnished, maintained to a high standard, and it was spotlessly clean on arrival. One bedroom has a double bed and the other one has two single beds. There is a wet room with a shower in addition to the main bathroom. While Wells itself is beautiful and well worth a visit, it is quite compact, so we did explore the surrounding countryside and there is a lot more to discover than we had time for. A thoroughly enjoyable stay -- we're already thinking about our return visit to Bishops Mews.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2018
Thank you for your great review. Wells is a lovely place to live and an ideal spot for exploring locally. So pleased you liked the accommodation. We try to make it ‘home from home’ and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander494...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large, airy, central and clean.”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed their stay so much last year we decided to return this year! Large, clean, well equipped and central, this apartment is great for families. The high street is a minutes walk away and a few minutes walk takes you to all the sights. Great places to eat out and a variety of Supermarkets are easily accessible all on foot. A great stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Thank you so much for returning and your wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you again
Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing