We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great value !”

Rugantino Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 88 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Italian restaurant and have been for over 40 years now. We are situated directly on The Cathedral green with stunning views of the West front of Wells Cathedral. The hotel has 9 beautifully refurbished en suite bedrooms, and a restaurant that can seat 50 people. We specialise in Italian cuisine, with plenty of past and pizza options. We make our own pasta and pizza dough daily on the premises, along with fresh sauces to compliment each dish. we also have a good variety of meat and fish dishes, plenty of vegetarian options, a couple of vegan options and we are very mindful of peoples dietary requirements. I have a very talented kitchen team who work tirelesly to produce wonderful food day in day out to a very high standard. My professional front of house team are all extremly experieced in giving the best possible service at all times which enhances your meal experience with us at Rugantinos.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Thank you very much to owner Nick Rossi and his team. My elderiy mother and I happened upon your restaurant on wednesday 30th april whilst looking for a lunch venue.
Being a 'local' I've eaten in Wells many times but (like a lot of people ) I've generally stuck to the same eateries. I am so glad that we found this gem as immediately upon entering we were treated to top class service, given plenty of time to peruse the super menues and provided with iced water.
Both Mother and I decided on two courses and the food was freshly cooked , delicious and piping hot with more than ample portions ! combine this with a glass of wine and we were ready to face the rigours of the market and our bus trip home.
We look forward to dining with you again and think I may just have to try a pudding next time as the menu was so tempting! : )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robnhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Everyone at Rugantinos is so pleased when they hear how much a customer enjoyed their dining experience at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you and your mother again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 458 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ate here one night when staying in Wells with my husband on a child free break .Arrived on a Sat night around 8 looking for table .Restaurant was busy but after a short wait in the lounge having a drink looking at the view of Wells cathedral were shown to our table .Food was fantastic and service equally good .Would return again if I visited Wes .

Thank BessieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review of our restaurant and for taking the time to review it. We do appreciate it. Hopefully we may see you again if you are in Wells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A touch disappointing. The main course arrived before we had finished our starter course, nobody asked whether we had finished with our starters, nor did a waiter clear before our mains were served - we had to shuffle dishes around to make space. Four of us each had a different pasta dish, none of which were better than average. Definitely a feeling of being ushered in and ushered out, seating was cafe-like, not a restaurant feel. Last visit was (to our amazement) ten years ago - this restaurant hasn't improved in the interim, but has unfortunately headed the other way. Will probably pass on another visit and go elsewhere.

Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

The main course was served as you just had a bread basket as a starter, and this usually stays on the table for the duration of the main course. The dishes you had to move were side plates, which we helped you move back into position. All our pasta and sauces are homemade on the premises every day, you only have to read other reviews to see how highly our food is rated. It is a shame you felt ushered in and out, because we pride ourselves on the service we offer. There is no reason for you to have felt that way, as we have a beautiful lounge overlooking the Cathedral, where you could have sat and had a relaxing drink after your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We've now revisited twice since the dinner menu was changed back and broadened. Many thanks to the owners for contacting us via tripadvisor to inform us of their decision. As always the food was fresh, authentic Italian and stunningly flavoursome- all three courses. There's great choice for a variety of palates and pizzas are now available. The staff are attentive and helpful and the restaurant has its own stylish ambience. We have thoroughly enjoyed our meals (as did those around us!) and look forward to many more happy experiences.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doghappy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This restaurant in the Ancient Gatehouse Hotel had a relaxed atmosphere and friendly, efficient service. On offer were two courses for £13.90 and three for £16.90 per person including a glass of wine which we found were very good value. We opted for three courses and added a selection of bread at just £2 to munch on whilst awaiting the starters. There was plenty enough tasty bread with ample olive oil and balsamic vinegar for the two of us with just one serving and it led well into our antipasto starters. The portion of traditional lasagne was clearly designed for hearty appetites whilst I enjoyed a more modestly sized mushroom lasagne. Our chosen glasses of red wine were 125ml Nero D'Avola and good it was too. We rounded off with bread and butter pudding and a mouthwatering Sicilian lemon tart. We hadn't booked so perhaps were lucky to get a table without waiting as clearly this place is well known and popular with the locals. The restaurant was pretty full right through our meal. When paying by credit card I generally dislike the practice in some places of inviting you to select from the hand-held machine whether to add a tip. Here that potential issue was anticipated as the printed bill had a handwritten 10% op service charge added. When we came to pay we were then asked which total we wanted to pay, the total or that plus the service charge. If you enjoy italian food, try eating here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugantino Restaurant also viewed

 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Rugantino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing