We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”

Rugantino Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Italian restaurant and have been for over 40 years now. We are situated directly on The Cathedral green with stunning views of the West front of Wells Cathedral. The hotel has 9 beautifully refurbished en suite bedrooms, and a restaurant that can seat 50 people. We specialise in Italian cuisine, with plenty of past and pizza options. We make our own pasta and pizza dough daily on the premises, along with fresh sauces to compliment each dish. we also have a good variety of meat and fish dishes, plenty of vegetarian options, a couple of vegan options and we are very mindful of peoples dietary requirements. I have a very talented kitchen team who work tirelesly to produce wonderful food day in day out to a very high standard. My professional front of house team are all extremly experieced in giving the best possible service at all times which enhances your meal experience with us at Rugantinos.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We met with friends for a mid-week lunch. The atmosphere was very lively and the staff, tho' very busy remained calm and polite. Food arrived without too much delay and was excellent.
The table-linen was pristine and the restaurant clean.

The toilets are up some winding stairs and could prove a problem for disabled customers.

All in all - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jomobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    128
    30
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well cooked but poor choice, expensive and slow”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 course meal for 5, mid-week with a bottle of Prosecco and a couple of lemonades. The bill came to over £160 with an optional 15% service charge. The service was slow. 3 of us chose the chicken but it had run out. We had the lamb instead and to be fair, it was excellent. Of 4 desserts, only 1 was available and this was ordinary to say the least. Gone is the 3 course evening menu for £30 and up have gone the prices by at least 30%. So all in all, rather overpriced and disappointing, but a very good chef when it came to the mains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylord W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oops,a change for the worst that should be reversed!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate there tonight and the food was, as always, fabulous. However, we were not aware of the changes to the menu before we arrived. The evening menu is now very restricted with pasta dishes shown the red card. This is a great "MIss Marples" restaurant with lovely Italian cucina where it is now difficult for vegetarians to find a reasonable number of alternative dishes. Less choice means less reasons to come, so we'll stop by at Gigis in Glastonbury more frequently. We won't give up the ghost entirely but please reverse the changes or we'll buy a season parking ticket in Glastonbury!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Doghappy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great quality food and service at terrific value!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I came to eat here with my partner as I had heard a lot of good feedback about the food.

I chose the English Lamb main and the Hake. I was incredibly impressed with its presentation and taste. Also very important was it's reasonable price!

Would definitely eat here again and tell others as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sirk186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been going to the Rugantino restaurant for 13 years, and have seen quite a few changes - some good, some not so good, but now its so bad we will not be going back until we hear it's made amends. The menu has changed from being extensive with Italian food to a limited menu which does not seem very Italian at all. We used to love the pasta here, in fact it beat any pasta we have ever had in London Italian restaurants, but now that's only allowed at lunch. Who has ever heard of an Italian Restaurant not serving pasta for dinner? Very disappointed. Having seen the very small menu, we were then told two of the things were not available. This was a Saturday night! When the food turned up, we were rather surprised at how little of it there was - we are not big eaters but this was a joke. The quality was very good though. For desserts I had the cheese and biscuits - I needed something a little more substantial to eat after the main, and my wife had some chocolate thing that was so bad she rejected it - that's a first.

Hopefully the owners will address some of these issues and then we can look forward to going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPLimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugantino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rugantino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing