We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great decor, great atmosphere.”
Review of Old Spot - CLOSED

Old Spot
Price range: $0 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great decor, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Old Spot is fantastic! I grew up in Wells and I cant think of a better restaurant in the area. We visited on a Sunday lunchtime and had a two course meal for under £20. I had a ham and parsley terrine with celeriac and mustard to start and a pork roast as a main and my wife had the roast and a treacle tart for pudding. All the food was delicious especially the roast potatoes.
The restaurant is well decorated and the staff were friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Overall, a perfect place to eat if you're visiting Wells - avoid the pubs on he high street, they're all pretty grotty.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    73
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“incredible value for incredible food”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

we were thrilled to enjoy a wonderful meal at the Old Spot during our recent trip to Somerset from NYC. Considering the high quality of the food, the lunch at the Old Spot is quite a good deal -- 15pd for two courses, 18pds for three. We arrived after visiting the church and enjoyed our meal in the light airy dining room on the first floor. The homemade gnocchi practically floats off the plate. The chowder with local seafood is absolutely fabulous. If you have a chance to visit, you will not be disappointed. I cannot wait to visit again for dinner!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decca_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just love the interesting menu and lively atmosphere - great for lunch.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good bistro....”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

One of our favourites in Wells. Good food menu (always fresh and changing), great wine list and very friendly service. Worth a visit for couples, families and groups.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff,wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever had!”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a fantastic place. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and most of all absoultly fabulous food! I had pheasant as a main course with celeriac which was to die for, the flavours just burst in your mouth. The chef is a genius. If i win the lottery he works for me! Cant praise this place enough. Will be making a visit to Wells again just so we can eact there again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank welshcardiff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Spot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing