We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Lovely Decor and Friendly Hosts.”

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
Ranked #6 of 96 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've been twice to the Fountain since the new owners have taken over. We were not infrequent guests to the "old" Fountain. The standards have been maintained with a new fresh fell to the place.
Both meals were of very good quality local produce and we are looking forward to trying the curry night in a few weeks. The wine lists covers most varietals and regions with a good variety in price.
One of our meals was the Sunday roast we were both stuffed after the large starter and main course that we were unable to have dessert. The steamed pudding that was a recipe of the new owner's Nan looked delish.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and the new owner came to chat to us and we loved how the restaurant is filled with personal possessions that have memories for them that they are willing to share.
Some lovely artwork of South African landscapes, few eclectic pieces like the stuffed pheasant over the bar and the quirky scrabble "reserved" signs are a novel touch.
We enjoyed ourselves, would recommend this to others and look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank escholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 532 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I tried the Fountain Inn to see if I could reccomend it to my guests when they stay with me. I was more than satisfied with the service, the staff were very attentive. The atmosphere and the good quality of food at a reasonable price. I have now done my fourth visit to the fountain Inn having a varing menu and the high quality remains the same. This restaurant is a very good asset for the City of Wells. I will have no hesitation in reccomending it to my guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paulette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were informed of the good food and atmosphere at the Fountain. Unfortunately we found a mish mash of décor and disappointing food. The empty tables were plentiful and a few reserveds were noted. My rib eye steak was one of tough and fatty. My wife enjoyed a vegetarian lasagne that was full of beans and spices. I can not say that the food was full of flavour. It was full of salad side and disappointing choice of cookery. Will not be paying a visit for a long time. Not recommended for value and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Manager at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Nick W,
We are really sorry you were not happy with your meal or experience at The Fountain Inn. The rib eye steak is from the best supplier in Somerset, and unfortunately if you do not tell us on the evening we are not given the opportunity of replacing it. The Vegetarian society all rave about or lasagne and recommend people all the time because of its flavour and taste. As far as the decor is concerned, it would only appeal to someone who is well traveled and has taste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We decided to give the Fountain Inn a go having recently moved to wells.

We were very happy with our choice. Fantastic service, great atmosphere and excellent food.

It was very busy, perhaps at capacity, yet we still could not have asked for anymore from our waiter.

With this being our local we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wellsyocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed locally in Wells and decided to try The Fountain Inn after reading reviews for it.

Our reserved table was next to the large front window. We both ordered the Rib-Eye steak, which was cooked to perfection for both of us, and was a lovely cut of meat with very little fat – no part of the meal can be criticised for its taste or quality.

However, we visited on a Tuesday evening and although the restaurant didn’t appear to be particularly busy, we waited almost an hour for our main (with no starter ordered), even though the table next to use had their starter and main delivered before we received ours. We were both asked if we wanted the sauce separate in a jug which we accepted, however both came with the sauce served over the steak, in a large quantity. Thankfully, the sauces were amazing, and complemented the meal perfectly – this could have been a big issue if the sauce wasn’t to our taste though!

With a few tweaks and greater consistency with the service, The Fountain Inn is a great place to visit with a nice selection of food, served up in a cosy atmosphere in a great location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing