We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
Ranked #7 of 97 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were informed of the good food and atmosphere at the Fountain. Unfortunately we found a mish mash of décor and disappointing food. The empty tables were plentiful and a few reserveds were noted. My rib eye steak was one of tough and fatty. My wife enjoyed a vegetarian lasagne that was full of beans and spices. I can not say that the food was full of flavour. It was full of salad side and disappointing choice of cookery. Will not be paying a visit for a long time. Not recommended for value and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Manager at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Nick W,
We are really sorry you were not happy with your meal or experience at The Fountain Inn. The rib eye steak is from the best supplier in Somerset, and unfortunately if you do not tell us on the evening we are not given the opportunity of replacing it. The Vegetarian society all rave about or lasagne and recommend people all the time because of its flavour and taste. As far as the decor is concerned, it would only appeal to someone who is well traveled and has taste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 547 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We decided to give the Fountain Inn a go having recently moved to wells.

We were very happy with our choice. Fantastic service, great atmosphere and excellent food.

It was very busy, perhaps at capacity, yet we still could not have asked for anymore from our waiter.

With this being our local we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wellsyocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed locally in Wells and decided to try The Fountain Inn after reading reviews for it.

Our reserved table was next to the large front window. We both ordered the Rib-Eye steak, which was cooked to perfection for both of us, and was a lovely cut of meat with very little fat – no part of the meal can be criticised for its taste or quality.

However, we visited on a Tuesday evening and although the restaurant didn’t appear to be particularly busy, we waited almost an hour for our main (with no starter ordered), even though the table next to use had their starter and main delivered before we received ours. We were both asked if we wanted the sauce separate in a jug which we accepted, however both came with the sauce served over the steak, in a large quantity. Thankfully, the sauces were amazing, and complemented the meal perfectly – this could have been a big issue if the sauce wasn’t to our taste though!

With a few tweaks and greater consistency with the service, The Fountain Inn is a great place to visit with a nice selection of food, served up in a cosy atmosphere in a great location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked a special birthday meal in this loudly advertised Gastro Pub. I phoned them a week in advance and asked about a Sunday evening group of 8, and was told no problem.
We duly arrived - a happy group of would be regular diners, we all live locally.
However, the menu turned out to be extremely limited, several of the choices were unavailable and one diner was offered a mixture of beef and chicken since they were running out of options!
The vegetables were mushy and overdone, the cauliflower resembled porridge, the vegetarian option appeared to be a rather poor pancake, filled with some of the table vegetables.
The presentation and flavour were average, reminiscent of cheap pub grub - no one was prepared to try a dessert, the birthday girl just wanted to go home.
Disappointing and none of us would ever go back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Caroline,
All I can do is apologise for any short comings on Sunday evening. We only run a Roast dinner menu on a Sunday, as indicated in our pub window and website and yes it is a limited menu.
The only option that was sold out was the roast chicken,( out of three roast options0. We did give your one guest both the roast beef and chicken, with which she said she was delighted! We served over one hundred roast dinners on Sunday, and had no complaints about the vegetables. Sorry that you wont be back to enjoy our food and pub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and i enjoyed our visit to the Fountain. The food was rustic, both the lasagne and the rather spicy sausages. While it tasted OK, the crispy crunchy garlic bread with the lasagne was in fact bread with a cheese topping, it should be as advertised. We loved the mood music, with a variety of many music formats, perhaps a little too old in places for the youth of today.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spain0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing