We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the service”

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
Ranked #6 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wells, Somerset U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pity about the service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Not quite sure what the term "gastro pub" is supposed to signify......our meal was enjoyable, well cooked and nicely presented. The main course was, in contrast to other establishments in the local area serving a comparable Sunday roast, more expensive, but the desserts very good value at only £3 each.
It is a great pity that the standard of service did not meet the standard set by the kitchen, some further staff training definitely required, there seemed to be general confusion over which staff member was serving which table, and a lack of familiarity with cutlery requirements. The last spoonful of dessert had barely passed our lips before we were asked if we would like our bill, no coffee offered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    147
    36
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Too many basic errors”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

First off, I am pleased that other reviews are positive. It shows they can deliver according to their aspirations. However, our meal was somewhat disappointing with a number of basic kitchen and service errors.
The pub itself is attractive and the new owners have taken effort to make it welcoming. Indeed, we were warmly greeted as we walked thru the door having been noted that we were looking at the menu and were likely to be there for food rather than just a drink. We were shown to the upstairs dining room which has a little less ambience than the good looking and inviting dining areas downstairs.
The menu is very good, fairly priced for a quality gastro pub and indicates some initiative in the kitchen so, overall, was very promising. Music- White Christmas in mid August Really!!!
Our drinks orders were taken promptly by a pleasant, polite but a very new (and inexperienced) waitress. However, of the four drinks ordered, two were wrong (one subsequently corrected without dispute by the bar staff, the other just lived with). The jug of water also requested could helpfully have been colder or iced.
The main dishes arrived in good time but were a long way off what we had anticipated. My salmon (a very good sized portion) arrived without the potatoes (I only realised later when we saw the menu again for desserts) and was very unevenly cooked - half correctly done, but about a third still raw. Pity, the flavour was very good and marinade, well balanced. I mentioned this to the waitress who apologised, went away then came back and offered my another portion so some belated offer of remedy. The lasagne had no obvious tomato in it at all. It was not unpleasant but was not lasagne and fairly heavy just effectively being cheese, pasta and meat. The duck was well cooked but needed vegetables which belatedly were asked for and were delivered promptly - stir fried, not roasted though. Why was this not offered up front though?
The desserts were much more successful, but still, the brownie was described on the menu as with a cream but this was absent from the plate. The choc pear pudding was very good though - I can see this being a signature dish for the chef.
And finally, when we finished our desserts, we were asked if we wanted anything else "like the bill". Were we being hustled out or simply a reflection of an inexperienced waitress? it felt like the former but trust it was the latter. We didn't feel she was coping and probably would have benefited from some more experienced help and guidance.
As I say up front, I'm pleased other reviews are positive because initial impressions and pricing suggests they have high aspirations as to the experience they wish to provide guests. Unfortunately, we didn't have the benefit and we left disappointed and underwhelmed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Decapitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are very sorry about your experience in our pub, and not trying to make any excuses we have only re- opened the pub a week ago. Our waitress in question on Friday evening is new and learning, and we apologies for any inconvenience caused. We aim to please all our customers, but sadly cannot ! We can only take your comments as constructive criticism and will try and apply them in going forward. I Remember your table from Friday evening, and did try and offer you a replacement Salmon and personally replaced an elderflower juice for the pomegranate and elderflower you ordered - there was no mention of another incorrect drink ?? It would be most helpful for all restaurants, especially new ones, to rather give them a chance to rectify any problems on the night. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, as a new pub we value every ones opinion and will endeavor to deliver a better standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find on a Sunday night.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were pointed in the direction of the Fountain Inn when it appeared every other restaurant in town had closed. We were very warmly welcomed and told there was a wait with the kitchen. No worries there as we were more than happy that we would eat at all! A few excellently poured pints and are table was ready for us. We both had an almighty roast and a great bottle of red wine. The waiting staff were more than happy as we lingered over a fabulous Chocolate Brownie and some great coffee.. and maybe one or two brandies! A great place and when we are back in Wells we will book for another Sunday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The new Fountain Inn!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a great new feel to the Fountain Inn. I drive to Wells everyday to come into work and used to come here a lot. I heard it had new owners, and thought to give it a chance. I was pleasantly surprised! The decor has been changed drastically and it looks and feels much more high-end and welcoming. A very fresh, and friendly service accompanied with our meals. We went on Saturday night and both ordered the salmon with veg and soy; a little expensive for what I normally go for, but it was fantastic, I would definitely recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I used to go to wells cathedral school some twenty years ago and the Fountain Inn was then one of the best pubs around.

Having got married the day before and staying in wells thought would return with my new wife. Wrong decision.

The pub had new owners with cards still displayed on the bar. We were not met on entry and asked to find our own seats. It soon became clear that there was only one waitress covering the upstairs and downstairs of the pub. It was also apparent that people had been waiting sometime to order and get drinks.
Decided to go downstairs to get our own drinks and on bringing them up them had to wait some time to place our order. I ordered the beef only to be told sometime later that there wasn't any. Ordered starter and mains and then the wait began.

We waited about 35 minutes for our starter. When it arrived no sauces were offered. We did however ask for Yorkshire pudding to be supplied with our now lamb dishes and were told that would not be a problem.

Waited again for our starter plates to be cleared and then waited about another 30 minutes for our mains to arrive.

When mains arrived again no sauces offered and no Yorkshire pudding was supplied. We asked why and the waitress went to check. Five minutes later she returned to say sorry all sold out.

The lamb was not good with herb stalks in the gravy. Was not worth the money.

Overall a very poor experience. Food was not good, with terrible service. No apology for delay, no sauces offered and food poor quality. Would not return. New owners will need to improve if they want to keep customers. Would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Raph330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Raph,
We are truly sorry for your terrible experience of our pub. We opened on Tuesday 6th August and clearly still have a long way to go! Although we still have the same chef, who has served our pub for over twenty years. There is no excuse for poor service or bad food and we can only hope you will give us a second chance. We had over ninety covers on Sunday for dinner and we under estimated the demand, hence the lack of Yorkshire puddings.Please accept our most humble apologies and do give us another chance when in Wells.
Kind regards
Craig Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing