We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pet-friendly accommodation”
Review of Worth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worth House
Ranked #9 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights here earlier this week with our two Boxer dogs. We only use pet-friendly accommodation and are quite choosy. Hosts James & Jacq have refurbished the house and it has been open since May this year. We had a big room with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Plentiful space for dogs and humans and a very large en-suite shower/loo/washbasin. Sensible mixer taps made it easy to fill kettle, wash dog bowls/ utensils and the cushion flooring in the shower room was ideal for the water bowl & feeding.
Large car park at rear with access to rear garden. Reception area / Hall is at rear too with flagstone floor and plenty space to dry any wet paws and leave boots / wellies. The room had new wall mounted flat screen TV and there is also another TV lounge with comfortable suite, board games and visitor attraction leaflets.
Breakfasts were generous proportions, freshly cooked and well presented.
Towels were changed daily. Good food in nearby pubs.
Car is a necessity in this area.
Would be happy to make a return visit but we always go somewhere different.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunseekerPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 94 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at Worth house for a week and was exceptionally well looked after from start to finish. Jac amd James could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was delicious and superbly cooked. Our room had a spectacular view, and was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were able to explore the many local attractions and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Super location near Wells and Cheddar Gorge.
Quiet rural location lots of parking space.
Brand new refurbished double room(en suite) at rear of house 5* comfort.
Jaqualine the host very pleasant and helpful.
Good range of options for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at Worth House for a night on our way down to Cornwall and really glad we did. Beautiful room, lovely gardens and great view of the cows in the field from our room.
Breakfast was great, and Jacqueline was really friendly - they have done a great job of combining their obviously loving family home and a spot-on B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmathe37th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived very late (1130pm) but Jacqueline was not at all put out and even offered us fresh milk for a cup of tea. The room was very large and a good size en-suite shower room. It was a warm night and a delight to be able to leave the window open fully and not hear a sound. Consequently we awoke refreshed and ready to explore the great city of Wells. However we firstly needed to take on fuel which was in the form of a first class breakfast-all organic and great tasting. Highly recommended and excellent value. Its a short 5 minute drive into the centre of Wells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenruston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We're a family of four and just stayed overnight. What a great choice of B&B! James and Jacqueline were very friendly and welcoming. The location is great - just outside Wells - in a quiet country setting. We had two rooms, both of which were clean and very comfortable. Our bathroom was modern, with an excellent shower. The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of selections. The room rates were very reasonable for such good accommodation. We would have been very happy to stay longer had we had the time. (We went over to the Panborough Inn for dinner, which was excellent.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am happy to say that our stay at Worth House was worth every penny:)
The quality of room and breakfast was great value for money.
I would recommend this b&b for anyone who is staying for a long time as well as an overnight as we did.
I was sorry that we could not take advantage( for our children) of the garden trampoline, sandbox and lovely weeping willow.
Breakfast was delicious and the owner extremely welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Owner at Worth House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments Carol. We're glad you had a nice stay. Hopefully see you again in the future. Jacqueline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
2.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
353 reviews
2.2 mi away
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worth House

Address: | Near Wells, Wells BA5 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $98 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worth House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 miles from Wells (on the B3139 going towards Burnham-on-sea), Worth House is a family run B&B recently under new ownership. It is ideally located for exploring Somerset with Wookey Hole caves, Cheddar Gorge and historic Wells and the fabulous Gothic cathedral all within easy reach. If you enjoy a local ale and some home cooked food, the Pheasant Pub and restaurant is less than 0.5 Miles away. Relax in the former farmhouse with parts dating to the 16th century. The house offers views of the Mendip hills and farmland from all rooms and therefore a perfect setting to escape from the stress of modern living. There is an attractive secluded garden for guest use and a cosy lounge with games, books, an honesty bar and information on local attractions. Whether you want to explore the history of the local area, enjoy the stunning countryside or be more energetic with climbing or caving, there is something for everyone. Guests can enjoy:• Free wireless internet access• Full English breakfast served using locally sourced/free range products• Vegetarian breakfast options• Tea/coffee making facilities in their room• Flat screen television with free view• ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Worth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worth House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing