We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
The cottage from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage from the front
The Cottage from the side to the garden From the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The cottage from the front
The Cottage from the side to the garden
From the front door
The Lounge
The Lounge
The kitchen
The kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Spare Bedroom
Looking behind the cottage towards the Steeple
From the Patio Doors
The Rear Garden
The Old Hospital Entrance
The Old Hospital
Towards the Golf Club from the entrance
The Bishops moat and walls
Beneath the Bishops Palace
The Bishops Palace grounds
Inside the Bishops Palace
Inside the Bishops Palace
The Vicars Close
Inside the Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Norwegian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
stevecZ41...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It was a lovely house in a lovely place. The owner was fantastic, very helpful, loads of good information and really helpful.

It was booked as a holiday for family and they would love to go back another time in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing xmas break”
Reviewed December 21, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely brilliant holiday cottage. Chris and Viv were brilliant with all the info they sent us and loved all the little touches they added to make the stay feel like home. We will be booking again for xmas 2016.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage had everything that we could wish for. Apart from being scrupulously clean and tidy, it was so well equipped. And the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
We walked into Wells and back on two occasions (the temperatures were minus 4 degrees during our stay) and it took us between 25 and 30 minutes each time. But we were reassured that the cottage was warm and welcoming - just waiting for our return!

There is only one place we will stay when revisiting Wells.

Many thanks Chris and Viv

David and Di

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1234111
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay, holiday home from home.”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at 4 Lower Chapel Court, the property and the service provided by Chris and Viv can not be faulted. The property and holiday all round more than lived up to our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireash...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a perfect home from home”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

booked as birthday present for my mom, who loved it, attention to detail in the cottage was perfect everything you could need was provided, owners chris & viv were so helpful with all the information they provided from eating recommendations , places to visit , how to get to the places, any questions i had were answered so quickly. even down to bus routes !

location of the cottage is great for exploring the area, from seaside at Weston and Burnham, to Stonehenge and Glastonbury, ,Wells is only 5-10 mins in car and beautiful

My mom said what was so nice about it was after a day out exploring, it was lovely to come back to the cottage and feel so relaxed and at home

Would have no hesitation in re booking and would thoroughly recommend to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really felt like home from home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baz1705
Kings Lynn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding Cottage in a tranquil setting we had a wonderful time. Chris and Viv kept us up to date with regular e-mails and left a lovely welcome pack for us. Everything we could need was in the cottage we did not need for anything I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for either a family holiday or a quiet break lots to see and do in the area. Chris and Viv left lots of brochures in the cottage as well as local restaurants and pubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Franci...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb and extremely well equipt accommodation in a terrific location”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Good parking and a regular bus service a few minutes walk from the cottage giving easy access to Wells and surrounding areas of Somerset. We are well traveled and this is probably one of the best holiday lets we have had over many years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing