We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bijou cottage in the heart of Wells”

Review of IN-B-TWEEN COTTAGE

View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bedroom with view of the Cathedral Kitchen/diner - middle floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bedroom with view of the Cathedral
Kitchen/diner - middle floor
The cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bazandhil...
1 review
“Bijou cottage in the heart of Wells”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Views of the cathedral from the cottage were lovely. The cottage was clean and well equipped and Linda D obviously cares that her guests enjoy their stay.
We would certainly recommend the cottage for anyone who wants to visit Wells.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Thank you for your very kind review, and for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. Thank you , too, for the very helpful comments in the suggestions book. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Wells.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackireim
Brooks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect, cozy stay!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in the cottage for a week and it was great! We felt so at home. The beds were very comfortable and all the necessary furnishings and appliances were provided. I looked forward to returning to the cottage each night to relax. It's in a great location, situated within walking distance of the cathedral, Bishop's palace, all the fantastic restaurants and shops as well as the bus station. We were able to access every location we needed within a ten minute walk of the cottage. Not to mention a beautiful view of the cathedral from the windows. The neighbours surrounding the cottage are extremely friendly and quiet as well. Would highly recommend staying here on a visit to Wells as well as eating at the Fountain Inn - which is a delicious pub/restaurant just down the street from the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Thank you for your glowing review. It was a delight to have you as guests, and the cottage was immaculate when you left, which was much appreciated. We would love to have you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hksli2017
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable and clean cottage”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is well formed, everything is clean and tidy. There are two toilets in the cottage which is really convenient. The cottage is located not far away from the main street, the environment is nice and quiet.

Linda is nice and helpful, she introduced good restaurants and fabulous tourist sites to us.

We had a warm stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your much appreciated review. You were delightful guests who looked after the cottage well, and I would love to have you stay again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26carol20...
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two night stop over en route to Cornwall”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoyed a two night break in the cottage, it was fine for the two of us the bedroom is two flights up in a lovely attic room with an en suite and good views over the city looking out towards t he Cathedral, it is in a tucked away location really quiet. We used the kitchen diner as our sitting room as the ground floor sitting room seemed dark. We really enjoyed the view as the sun set over the roof tops towards the Cathedral roof. The cottage is really central only five minutes from the high street, Cathedral etc. Good range of shops from Waitrose to a lovely deli and market on Sat. Excellent places to eat and the Cathedral and Bishops Palace dos not disappoint, we were lucky enough to be in Wells during the Somerset Open Studios. Altho an allocated parking spot, it is pretty tight a large car would I think have difficulty particularly if another car parked, once parked we didn't use it! Walking was so easy, altho quite expensive at £80 a night the accommodation is well appointed and in an excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking the car!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The view of the Cathedral from the kitchen-diner is such that the downstairs sitting room tends only to be used when we have more than a couple staying. However, we are planning to provide additional lighting there. Parking is at a premium in central Wells, with very few cottages having even off-street parking. My husband regularly parks our Toyota Avensis Estate in the allocated parking space, even with the neighbour's car in situ, but much larger cars could perhaps prove problematic.
My current rate, £80 per night, or £500 per week applies throughout the whole year, irrespective of season. Your review, however, prompted me to check the price of other cottages within central Wells, and In-B-Tween Cottage is the cheapest even at this time of year. B&B's would, of course, be less expensive, as would cottages in the surrounding villages. I do hope you will visit again, perhaps the two weeks in mid-October, when, in addition to the Wells Arts Festival, we have a Food Festival, a New Music Festival, and a brilliant Literary Festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great 'town house' Cottage, well located in a lovely City”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful three night stay here in August 2016. It is very much a modern cottage with a 'town house' feel. Everything we could have needed was there. Top floor bedroom was comfortable with a lovely view of the city in the near distance. Didn't make a lot of use of the kitchen but it was well set out with pretty much any device you could want.

Two small bathrooms both including showers were pleasing. Only five minutes walk from the cathedral itself and the nice pubs Wells has to offer. The owner was very pleasant and professional in all my dealings with her. Responded quickly and with always clear information and recommendations.

Whilst staying there we travelled to nearby Glastonbury for a day. Very easily done on a direct regular bus. The rest of the time was spent in Wells itself. Cathedral is definitely worth seeing by taking one of their tours. The film Hot Fuzz was mainly filmed outdoors in the city and it was quite a thrill to know that happened on our 'door step' of a few nights!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top floor bedroom with views
Liked least: WiFi signal in town was erratic and could have been an issue if dependent upon it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Dear Dylan,
Thank you so much for your kind review.You were delightful guests to have, and I very much hope that you will visit us again sometime.
Kind regards,
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect Situation”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This comfortable and well appointed cottage could not be better situated. In a quiet and private mews just an easy 5 minute walk from the cathedral and shops, it is also well placed for The Fountain, one of Wells' best eateries, which you pass on your walk into town. The 3 storey cottage has a wonderful view of the cathedral and also of Glastonbury Tor. We enjoyed having our cheese & wine supper outside on the private little back terrace, watched over by a characterful grey cat from the neighbour's roof. The huge comfy bed was most welcoming at the end of each day's exploration of this most delightful little city.

Having an allocated parking space right opposite the cottage was a big bonus, too. There was so much to do and see in Wells that we didn't take the car out between our arrival and our departure. There are machines in the centre selling a local street map for £2 - well worth it. The Wednesday market was fun and we bought some wonderful cheeses and sausages. Clothing and jewellery was also on sale at the market. I also enjoyed pottering about in a wonderful hardware shop. There are free weekday lunchtime concerts at the music school by the cathedral, which we actually enjoyed from outside, sitting on a bench, looking at the cathedral's lovely architecture.

A big thanks to our hosts for the welcoming fresh milk, coffee, tea and biscuits. We really enjoyed a nice hot coffee after our long drive. I see from the visitors' book that many guests have returned two, three or even four times, which speaks more eloquently than I can about the delights of In-Between Cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind and comprehensive review. You were excellent guests and we really hope that we can welcome you again in the not-too-distant future.
Kind regards,
Linda Davies
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherre...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I enjoyed a long weekend in Wells, staying in this wonderful cottage. The cottage has everything you need and more! A short walk into Wells with a lovely gastro pub on the way. We ate at The Fountain and the food was fantastic. We also enjoyed our visit to Glastonbury. Wells has a great Saturday market which is well worth a visit. I would recommend this cottage without hesitation. Oh and it's also spotlessly clean!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. You were ideal guests and I very much hope that you will enjoy a return visit in the not-too-distant future.
Kind regards,
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing