We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and welcoming”
Review of Coffee#1 Wells

Coffee#1 Wells
Ranked #5 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Wells
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofas, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
Restaurant details
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofas, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a lovely cosy place to have a coffee and food. Nice atmosphere. The staff are great considering the pressure they are under. There is always a que. But well worth queuing. The coffee is great and so are those Portuguese tarts made with custard. The last time we went the que was long as it was xmas shopping. But the Italian chap behind the bar greeted ever single person with a smile and a warm greeting. It's a nice change to Costa etc. Could do with a different toilet but guessing its grade 2 listed. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous coffee”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely coffee shop in Wells, so much more friendly and homely than the usual major chains. Excellent array of food including the biggest tea takes I have ever seen!
Coffee is delicious though I recommend an extra shot in a large latte.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not our best visit but still the best chain of coffee shops”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Usually this branch of #1 is excellent. Today, however, our coffee was badly made (no froth on a cappuccino - are you really a Barista?) and our tea cakes arrived so far apart they were almost two sittings!
However, as usual, the coffee is a lovely rounded flavour and nice and strong and the tea cakes are great value for money, large and tasty and extra butter is free. They were perfectly cooked too. The place is inviting and atmospheric and on a cold day like today it was nice and cosy. Normally would give this place a 5 but only a four today.
MANAGMENT - don't let it slide - there is lots of competition now :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Coffee only review”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This review relates to coffee only. I often call in first thing to collect a coffee to go. Beats the pants off the corporates for atmosphere and style. The cakes always look great but I've not eaten any of them recently. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and the coffee is lovely. My view of the cathedral now looks and tastes of coffee. Must sit down and eat/drink inside the cafe sometime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doghappy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good cafe. Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Coffee#1 has a really good atmosphere. The decor is very tasteful with a mixture of furniture and subtle, complimentary colours.

On our visit the service was good as the staff were polite and we didn't have to wait long.

I had an Americano which was good, and my wife is a fan of their Caramel Machiato and tells me it's the best she has ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSpatula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee#1 Wells also viewed

 

Been to Coffee#1 Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing