We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sheppey

The Sheppey
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Grill, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pub with gastropub credentials, charcoal cooker from spain, very assured cooking with a twist, real ales, craft beers, local ciders, belgium beers, cocktails, great decor , artwork and drinks, it can also seat 100 people next to the river. sawday winner, good food guide, camra, and tweeted by Britney Spears(true)
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The whole family had a fantastic Sunday lunch! the kids loved it. We came the night before to watch a band, saw the fantastic food and was lucky enough to get in the next day. You must go if your near, fantastic beer selection and home made cocktails. They've a row of concoctions on some shelves round the bar that look amazing! The staff are all friendly and cool and it's one of the few pubs outside bristol where the music is really good! Very highly recommended

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoodiefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    132
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pub with stacks of character and an amazing drinks and food menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My partner and I absolutely love this place! It's definitely a destination pub but well worth the trip to Godney. The staff are so very welcoming and provide an excellent service, the decor is most unusual for a pub but it totally fits, and the bar staff know their stuff with a great variety of ales, ciders, spirits and wines to choose from. The 6 x third of a pint for a tenner deal is great if you want to try a few ales without having too much. Oh and hunt out the 3 year old Damson Gin - you MUST give it a try. And the food is some of the very best pub food in the area; great specials and a really good choice. Everything we had was totally delicious! Looking to going again very soon. Word of advice though - BOOK! They get very busy - enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great venue. Something different. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a great evening out with friends. I've heard good things about this pub and it didn't fail to deliver.
Tasty food from a varied menu with plenty of choice.
I had a rump of lamb which was superb after a starter of salmon served with pancakes and maple syrup, a great combination.
Am looking forward to returning soon as the burgers looked amazing.

Helpful?
2 Thank javars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentines Night Made Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spent Valentines evening at The Sheppey Inn in Lower Godney. It was awesome. The beer choice was superb but for us it only mattered that they served Leffe and on keg. The fire was warm, the service was excellent and the food simply superb. Braised ox cheek was so sweet and tender and the Cajun chicken burger so full of flavour. Excellent portion size too. Unfortunately the band had to cancel due to the weather but that didn't detract from the atmosphere at all as everyone was so friendly and chatty. If you are anywhere in the area, you must go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Won't you take me to Funkytown?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bar? Restaurant? Club?

All of the above. And the funkiest pub/restaurant/club you have ever been to, and you would never find it unless someone told you about it. Way off the beaten track - an absolute hidden gem. It was a little eerie getting there as most of the Somerset Levels are flooded so we had to find a way in (thru Glastonbury on the Wells Road, take turn for Poulsham and then the turn for Godney taking the Village Hall sign - you will think you have gone wrong but just keep going) although you could see the floods The Sheppey road was still ok - just by the looks of things. When you find it you wouldn't expect whats behind the door until you go in - such a cool quirky interior.

We went 32 of us for a surprise party, they don't like big tables to book so the organiser was a bit cloak and dagger using different names and spreading the time a bit, but we all ended up in the barn area and it was the once a month Soul Shack Night.

After a fabulous dinner with fantastic service the DJ cranked up the vinyl and we hit the dance floor. The decor is so cool and quirky you see something different at every turn but most of all the staff are so accommodating, we arrived late and they still managed to get our meals out with the rest of the table. Paying was easy too for a large party, they produced a receipt for each table and we just took it up and paid for our own and past it to the next people, excellent value menu.

For us with the 3 hour drive and highly recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheppey also viewed

 

Been to The Sheppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing