We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great views

We did a 4½ mile walk from Wookey Hole, south-east to Milton Hill then north past Lower Milton... read more

Reviewed yesterday
ChrisCA54
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Little Mountain

First time to ebbor gorge and didn't know what to expect but we all(37,30,10,6,5,4, years old... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
snap-shot82
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 155 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Wells
from $53.45
More Info
from $763.53
More Info
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
109
40
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
40
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews circular walk red route lovely walk glastonbury tor wookey hole strenuous walk walking boots follow the path well worth the effort enjoyable walk steep steps wear sensible shoes mendip hills cliff top views are amazing national trust peaceful place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 155 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

Took our two daughters (10 and 12) on this leisurely walk, took about an hour and a half to complete the circuit and saw some amazing views.

Suggestions take water and snacks - there is nothing around, and wear sensible shoes as the ground can be uneven at times.

A beautiful part of the world? So unspoilt!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank ieuanprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

We parked in the NT car park and took the longer red route for our walk. This was quite challenging up the rocks through the gorge but absolutely worth it as you were actually walking through the quiet gorge itself rather than around a busy road as in Cheddar. We had good views and it was our most enjoyable walk of our week's walking in the Mendips area

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Steve25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Car park with optional charge. Choice of 3 timed circular routes from 15 minutes to 1 hour. We chose the 1 hour route and set off over the wall. Some of the signs are confusing so common sense is much needed. A few steep steps before it levelled out and then very steep steps up through the gorge. The views at the top were much appreciated by many. The return to the car park was easier.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Jamallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

I adore Ebbor Gorge and it’s one of those places that makes me so fortunate to live in England! Whether it’s just stopping off for a quick picnic on the way home from a day out in Wells, or spending a few hours walking the whole route up to the cliff top to enjoy the views, or down into Wookey Hole, it’s a beautiful, peaceful place. Usually easy to just pull in and park and payment is by donation to the National Trust.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

Having visited the disappointing Wookey caves in the morning, we ventured further up the limestone hill to Ebbor Gorge for the afternoon.
Much smaller and less touristy then nearby Cheddar, it much quieter and more peacefull.
Cheap parking at the top in an honesty pot.
Well maintained steps and paths throughout the gorge - though the signposts are a little confusing. At the view point, there is no barrier, so please take care especially with young kids!
The scramble up through the gorge is hard going and steep, but if our 3 year old can manage the red path in 2 hours, anyone can do it with care.
Hugely fun, stunning geological collapsed gorge to hike through - though very knackering by the time you get back to the car!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 923Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews