We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Pickwicks Country Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stopped off here one afternoon for a cup of coffee and a slice of cake. The staff were lovely, cake delicious and the large coffee was ENORMOUS - perfect!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    34
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Dropped in for afternoon tea and cake and the service, friendliness of staff and the food were excellent. The prices are very reasonable and it seemed nothing was too much trouble for all staff and management. I would recommend this establishment and urge you to pop in and try the fantastic selection of homemade cakes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogeronbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely independent cafe ,”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

First class service and great staff , Nothing is to much trouble and the meals are perfect as is the cake .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyf5493mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

dropped into this café for a quick lunch with my friend, ordered 2 lasagnas and chips quite quick being served friendly staff, but must say the food was awful, the lasagnas were very bland a bit like minced baby food just a bit of pasta on top chips were quite dry, no salad garnish, also we asked for two glasses of water which were served in large glasses with a few lumps of ice, when we came to pay they charged us £1.50 each for the water! disgusting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maryb765_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01alan1984, Owner at Pickwicks Country Kitchen, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I was sorry to hear that your recent visit to us here at Pickwicks was so unsatisfactory and do wish we had been given the opportunity to put things right on the day. The Lasagne that I make is to an authentic Italian receipe where the vegetables are chopped as small as possible to release they natural sweetness. This is obviously not to everybody taste especially if they are more used to the English version of this dish, however since being on the menu we have sold well over 1000 of them and this Is the first time we have received a compliant regarding there quality.
On the subject of water I can assure you that we do not under any circumstances charge for tap water, whether you have ice or not, I can only assume that this was a genuine mistake by the person that took your bill and again wish we had been given the chance to put this right at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Milkshake heaven”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I come in here every time i finish work or when i am shopping. I use to get butterscotch milkshake to takeaway and OMG they were amazing but unfortunatly they stopped doing that flavour. So i tried caramel and OMG it was very similar. Still amazing tho.
If you have a free 5 minuites get a milkshake.

Helpful?
Thank daviedanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickwicks Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pickwicks Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing