We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset is OPEN!”
Review of Burcott Mill

Burcott Mill
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Wells
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Burcott Mill is a traditional water-powered flour mill, one of only 50 still operating in the UK today. uilt in 1863, this mill is still producing high quality quality organic stone-ground flour using the traditional methods and machinery that were employed 150 years ago. In the Summer months of July August and September, the miller conducts tours at 3pm on Wed, Thurs, Fridays and Saturdays. Go to the Burcott Mill Website for more information
Poole
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Somerset is OPEN!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Don't beleive the national press about Somerset being sunk and underwater. We've just spent two days in Wookey and Wells. Burcott Mill is a working Water Mill that still grinds locally sourced flour. They also sell Bread made on the premises by the Miller and his wife, Lou.
A spendid place to visit and well worth it. About a 6 minute drive out of Wells, we also stayed the night here in the BandB also run by Steve and Lou. A perfect place to stay while either passing through Somerset or exploring the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank queenbeesknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your look around the mill - do let us know when you plan another trip here and we can make sure we are running the mill for you to see it in action! Enjoy the flour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take a tour, try the bread, then head to the Burcott Inn for lunch..”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Why not take a tour, try the bread, then head to the Burcott Inn for lunch.. we had a lovely morning with the kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Friday Afternoon”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent a very nice couple of hours here on Friday afternoon. A most informative tour by Steve, the owner/miller followed by coffee and cake in the courtyard. The tour was very comprehensive with the ability to see the Victorian machinery working throughout and overall a very interesting experience - more so than we expected. Well worth the afternoon. Good car parking and a playground for children. Also an opportunity to purchase the organic stoneground wholemeal flour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we had a guided mill tour here with my 9 and 11 year old it was so good and the miller knew everything about his subject we had a lovely tea afterwards in the courtyard and a peek into their b and b rooms which look first rate - highly recommend this to all ages

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50sammy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gentle, welcoming step back in time”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the mill for a tour by the owner/miller, then stayed for tea and home made cakes served by himself an his wife. Our party consisted of 3 adults and 2 children under 12, and every one of us was enthralled by the tour of the water mill and demonstration of grinding flour. The owners are lovely and welcoming and were happy to stay and chat about the history of the mill, and their part in it, while we enjoyed our tea.
This was one of those little gems you sometimes find of a summer's afternoon, and I recommend anyone finding themselves near Wells to try and pop in for a very tranquil couple of hours.
Presently, there are 30minute tours at 3pm every thurs, fri, as and Sunday. No need to book.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pogamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burcott Mill also viewed

 

Been to Burcott Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing