We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing especially service”
Review of Rajah Restaurant

Rajah Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
reading
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing especially service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

It has been a while since I last eat at this restaurant but I remembered good food and friendly staff, so my hope were high. I fully appreciate that it was a Friday evening just before Christmas but I don't thing that there is ever an excuse for poor attitude/service. The staff had a slightly surly and cold attitude which when you are out dining isn't what you want. Overall the food was good, especially the breads and side dishes, although the tandoori was a disappointment and the dishes generally slightly oily. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaybea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Don't be put off by the entrance to this restaurant. The stairs leading up to it are incredibly steep and when you reach the top it does feel as if you are stepping into someone's lounge, but the service and food are great.

All the usual favourites are on the menu plus a few more unusual dishes. Service is fast, friendly and efficient and the food really flavoursome. Although the Romna in Sadler Street in Wells has a 'smarter' feel, the service here is much more efficient and the food better value.

Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We had a take away delivered........”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend in Wells and had a take away delivered on Saturday evening. Our 2 curries and rice came witinin 30 minutes. Both the person taking the order and the chap delivering were very pleasant.
The chicken pathia was nice enough as was the chilli chicken garlic masala but nothing out of ordinary. What was a surprise though was the lack of garlic and the type of chicken used. Long slim slithers as opposed to nice big chunks.
Perhaps the restaurant served food is better but somehow I doubt it.
Im spoiled by living near Chillis in St Annes Bristol - the benchmark!

Helpful?
Thank Spoursy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat late”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Its not easy finding hot food at night in Wells. The food here was well made and served to hungry tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great curry venue in Wells”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rajah appeared to be the only Indian restaurant in Wells and was a real find ! Upstairs in a street not far from the Cathedral is a smallish dining room - service was quietly efficient and food as good as we have found anywhere. Value very good also.

Do ive it a try

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilternmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajah Restaurant also viewed

 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Rajah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing