We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Sadler's Brasserie

Sadler's Brasserie
Ranked #27 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Refurbished & re-launched by new owners (January 2017). Sadler's Brasserie is the relaxed informal restaurant. Head Chef, Jason Porter has taken the reins at the Sadler's Brasserie! He will now use his extensive and renowned culinary skills to make Sadler’s Brasserie on Sadler Street one of the go-to destination restaurants in the West Country. Having gained rave reviews as head chef of the New Inn, in Cerne Abbas, Dorset, Jason is hoping his well-crafted textures, delightful flavours and excellent presentation will win over foodies and locals looking for an honest and well-priced dining experience. Originally from Wells, Jason discovered his passion for cooking while working at Ritcher’s Restaurant (now Goodfellows) in Wells where his natural ability and drive resulted in him becoming head chef by the age of 18. With a clear vision of what he wanted and need to widen his knowledge he then applied for a position at Gordon Ramsey’s restaurant at Claridges. Having impressed the team he was offered a position at The Connaught, the five-star Mayfair hotel where the celebrity chef had taken over the food and beverage.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in the Ancient Gatehouse opposite and came here for breakfast which was self service. The scrambled egg was gorgeous and the staff lovely, one of the nicest breakfasts we have had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank god for Groupon”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were hotel guests at The White Hart - a gift from my parents at Christmas gave us 2 nights hotel stay (will do seperate review for that!!) a three course meal with prosecco, plus cream tea.

We booked for 6pm on Friday for dinner, slightly early perhaps but we were starving!!! We arrived downstairs just after 6 to be greeted by the receptionist who showed us to our table, provided us with the menu and our glass of prosecco. No faults on the waitress, she was extremely attentive and a great multi-tasker; she had to be as she was the only member of staff around and had to wait on us as well as fulfill her receptionist duties (we joked that she may be the chef as well as she spent the rest of the time out the back!!)

We shared the brie, and nachos to start- the brie was beautiful, the nachos however were blanketed with an extremely mild bland cheese, some tasteless jalepenos, a scattering of diced peppers, and served with some guacamole and sweet chilli sauce despite the menu stating salsa!

We both had steak and chips as our main, both cooked medium-well and they were cooked perfectly- we were only given the option of a rump steak (probably as we had the groupon menu) and I must admit this was really fatty and quite tasteless, the triple cooked chips appeared to have been quadrauple cooked a final time in the microwave as they had that chewy on the outside, empty on the inside texture!!

I had cheese and biscuits to end, one huge slab of cheddar and another of stilton- both were really tasty however I would have appreciated some smaller portions of a few other varieties, it was only servied with a few biscuits plus a signature salad and definitely lacked some chutney.

We were going to stay and have a few drinks after our meal but even with a few more guests dining in the restaurant by the time we had finished the atmosphere was dead so we headed out.

As this meal was included in our Groupon offer we can't really grumble too much however we did get the feeling that we were 'those Groupon guests' and so things were done on half measures!

Almost forgot the cream tea!! We didn't know what time to book our Cream Tea for as were planning on going out for the day on the Saturday so we asked if we could book it between 2 and 3pm and advised we weren't too sure on timings but rather naively thought it's only a few sandwiches and slice of cake so can't be too much of a problem if we're a bit late!

We arrived at probably 14.58 which the more punctual human being would describe as a little late, but at the end of the day is still between 2 and 3pm. We arrived in the restaurant and advised we were there for our cream tea to to which one waitresses exclaimed 'sorry it was booked between 2 and 3' which I was slightly put out by. We were then ushered in to the lounge which was a lovely room, given a pot of tea, a pot of coffee, a plate with 2x scones and some cream and jam, a plate of sandwiches and 2 slices of cake. The coffee was standard instant fairly weak coffee, neither of us are huge sandwich eaters but the vast selection of ham and tomato OR beef and horseradish didn't really tickle either of our tastbuds, the scones were lovely, nice and warm and fluffy... which made up for the house brick slice of cake we were served. It reminded me of cake from the canteen at school, except I don't even remember that being quite so dry, my partner was considering taking it home to wash his car with!!!

It's fair to say we didn't hang around for long and instead headed out to the streets of Wells to find a different eating and drinking establishment for the Saturday evening.

Overall an average experience.. just glad I didn't have to apy for any of it!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Was ok for the money but quickly forgotten!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited with a large family group for a Christmas two or three course carvery and for the money was reasonable enough but lacking on necessary touches in terms of no chutney with the terrine despite being listed on the menu, no cracking or stuffing and under cooked parsnips and boiled potato's, plus a somewhat non-festive bordering upon grumpy chef. Overall was passable for those on a budget as some of our group was but I would rather pay more and get more. Quickly forgotten!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTMSuperDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The main menu was excellent and the service was good. They had a good selection of wines but not beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJLH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK But Wouldnt Rush Back”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here on the spur of the moment as we had booked Rugatinos and they changed their menu for the worse.
Had a nice meal, a bit overpriced for what it was, but the food was nice and the service good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_and_Suzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sadler's Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Sadler's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing