We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same 241 food but more expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelot Inn - CLOSED

Camelot Inn
Cuisines: British, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Same 241 food but more expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We used to visit the Camelot when it was 241,because you knew what you were going to get good cheap and cheerful pub food.
It seems the pub is now under new management and the 241 has gone. The pub car park was empty(Saturday night) which was not a good sign (when previously it was full)The place lacked any atmosphere because of this.The black boards with the menus on which added to the character have been removed,the place looks a bit tired.
The food was acceptable,but without the 241 puts it in the price band of other better pubs in the area.
It's sad to see a pub like this because it's has so much potential-something needs to change in my opinion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jont2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    9
    19
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal at the Camelot Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had an excellent meal at the Camelot. The service was friendly and prompt and the food was hot and delicious, and reasonably priced. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We often ate here when it was 2-4-1, and never had a bad meal. However, it is now under new management. The menu was uninspiring and expensive. My husband chose a medium steak, plus £1.80 for a small jug of sauce. It came on a sizzlingly hot metal dish, so of course the steak carried on cooking. The steak itself was tasteless and gristly.

My lasagne (£8.15), was a meagre portion, nuked to death. When I was able to touch it, it was all lasagne sheets and bechemel sauce, and about a small tablespoon of meat. The edges were baked hard and inedible. My 'side salad' was a tablespoon of lettuce, one strip of red pepper, two strips of onion, and skinny slice of the end of a tomato, the bit you normally throw away. The chiabatta had the tiniest smear of garlic butter, dry and tasteless. When I complained, we were offered a free coffee each. This too was tasteless.

We should have noticed that the car park, which was normally full, had only six cars, including ours. The bill came to £27, which included two lagers. Rip off! We won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Improved so much!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I took my family for a meal at the camelot as it was nearing Christmas and we always meet up for a pub grub. We were quickly and kindly greated at the door by a lovely young gentlemen who then proceeded to take us to a table and handed us menu's. At first we were a bit confused as the menu had changed and we didn't realise it had stopped being 241, however the young waitress with the blonde hair was so lovely I didn't care and the prices worked out roughly the same as before so all in all it was great. When the food came out our steaks were served on a sizzling platter and tasted to perfection. I had no complaints and we stayed for hours having drinks. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great meal and great atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank napplicable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Took some friends for a meal last week, nobody explained that it is no longer 2-4-1. It is now twice the price for very bad quality food and service. Will not be returning!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bethsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelot Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing