We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of The Good Earth

The Good Earth
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I met up with some friends at the café and I was pleasantly surprised about the variety of food on offer. I decided to try the quiche and salad option and an elderflower drink. Lots of customers where going for the tasty pizza - it was selling pretty fast. I enjoyed every mouthful of the dishes of the quiche and the lentil salad was tasty too. I had to dash off for another meeting but will go back and try out the flap jack as I was told it was delicious.
The café was busy and with their quirky seating of the pews, softer options around the corner. Makes the atmosphere inviting. I like the a joining shop and excellent quality local products on offer.

The toilet facilities were clean.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    67
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Really yummy, filling vegetarian food. A nice change from all the other panini selling coffee shops of wells. Welcoming and friendly. Will return when next in wells.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent value for money”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited here one Friday lunchtime after spotting it on a previous visit to Wells and we were really glad that we gave it a try. The restaurant is one of a few units which appear to be part of the same company - a lovely looking grocery shop selling fresh fruit and veg as well as other dry goods all with an organic/economic friendly slant and a lovely gift shop selling a mix of antique and new items some of which are up cycled such as interesting stone jars reworked into table lamps. The restaurant is sandwiched in between and is a warren of rooms for eating including an outdoor area at the back and upstairs. We were surprised to find it so busy at just gone 12.15 pm but after eating the food I am not surprised. We are not vegetarian but found the choice available would suit every taste. I had cheesy bubble and squeak with vegetable gravy (not so much gravy as a very tasty and satisfying blend of spicy veg which was a meal on its own) a really delicious lunch. My husband had a mixed salad bowl which had a variety of different salads. Again he pronounced it delicious. Other tempting items on offer I noticed were pizzas and quiche and a variety of jacket potatoes. We also had a cappuccino each (cup or mug size available) and they were very good. The food is obtained from a canteen style servery as everything is on display - we liked this arrangement for lunch. Decor is trendy shabby chic/rustic with chunky tables and chairs. We loved it and thought it excellent value for money at a cost of around £8 each for a lovely lunch. We will definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theearlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My friend and I were looking for a vegetarian restaurant in Wells and found this one on line. Had lunch there this week and were really delighted. The menu is varied with a great selection. The quantities were generous and the staff very friendly and obliging. We had a lovely lunch and really enjoyed the whole experience. For sure will be back soon for another meal there. Well done to the management and staff for the quality of the meals and the attractive and comfortable seating.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cairowendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendip Hills Somerset
Level Contributor
379 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Another Beautiful Saturday lunch.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Having liked the Good Earth's facebook page, I have noticed what I can only describe as daily food porn [Dish of the day Photos] and have daily wanted to be able to go to Wells to visit. Sadly I work too far away to be a daily customer but The Occasional Saturday is utter bliss. Wonderful veggie choices, hubby had the Goulash and loved it, I had quiche and salad [so want the recipes for all your salads] and my daughter pizza and salad. Really liked the grated parsnip in the couscous salad, and last time I visited I really enjoyed the beetroot and lentil salad despite having disliked beetroot for 50 years!!!! Service was excellent as always, no matter how busy staff are always cheerful and helpful. Will be back again very soon :o)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Earth also viewed

 

Been to The Good Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing