We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Lovely!”
Review of Wells Cathedral

Wells Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 12th-century cathedral is a fine example of Early Gothic architecture.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Rather Lovely!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The reviewer who claims it's 'ludicrous' to suggest giving a donation is being overly fussy. They are asking,not demanding and I politely said I could only give £2 which they accepted. And purr lease.....rip off Britain??? In Australia it costs $15 to get into a small and dingy modern cathedral,stop moaning. Rant over,the cathedral is beautiful with the best aspect of it being the pretty grounds. It's not as grand as Durham but close.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    379
    47
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wells cathedral is a breathtaking sight on a breathtaking site. Prepare to be rendered temporarily speechless when taking in the architecture on the outside of the cathedral itself. On entrance there is a "suggestion" of a £10 donation for upkeep. Bear in mind that it is only a suggestion and not compulsory, So absolutely no point whatsoever of moaning on about ludicrous charges etc., On our visit did,nt feel a gun to the head or anyone collecting fees -only a suggestion on a large collercting case.

Wonderful inside and more beautiful architecture and craftsmanship. Very tranquil place except for the occasional screaming child and obligatory mobile phone. Heaven forbid that they should be banned on entrance,

Well worth a visit and you can make of it what you will. The town itself is lovely with lots of small shops with cathedral souvenirs so there is really no need to take photographs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank linds190819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You don't have to believe in God to visit, but it helps.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Dear Lord... please forgive us the fact that we weren't carrying much cash when we arrived and couldn't quite scrape the entire recommended donation together. We would have used a credit card to buy stuff in the gift shop at the exit but it was shut when we left.

And when you've got a spectacular piece of 12th century architecture on this scale this to maintain, you need plenty of donations. It really is breathtaking (not on the scale of, say, the Liverpool Anglican which is just plain mahoosive, but big nonetheless), and in an age of secularisation and the questioning of the existence of God, it is one of those few places that you get the feeling that this life isn't just it. I can't explain it, but you just do.

I can understand why some would gain from a guided tour, but being one of just a handful of people quietly wandering about and taking it in did it for me. In fact, if you went to Wells for a day and didn't visit the place you'd have to be a militant atheist or a member of the taliban.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank absenteethoughtlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow They Don't Make Them Like This Anymore”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

stumbled onto this gem on the way to Glastonbury. We spent the rest of the morning here and blew off the trip to Glastonbury. Those craftsmen of the Middle Ages were incredible. It is hard to imagine how they accomplished such wonders without having access to machines.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bescolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ludicrous Charges”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wells cathedral is magnificent, except when you go in they keep suggesting that you pay a £10 donation, and if you want to take photographs they want another £3 for a license, its ludicrous, its another rip of Britain, this is a house of prayer any suggestion of payment is shameful, if the churches didn't have so many hangers on who get paid high wages then the upkeep of these places would be far less.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank swanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Wells Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing