We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Wells Cathedral

Wells Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 12th-century cathedral is a fine example of Early Gothic architecture.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A great insite to our history. A must to visit wjen in Wells, nearby within a short walk is also the National Trust house.
Wells had a lot of small and different shops then the main high streets. Quirky coffee shops and antiques and jewellery places.
The cathederal is well equipped for the disabled customer or children prams with easy access ramps and electric doors.
A volountary fee is £6.00 but you can donate what you can afford without feeling pressured.
The shop is by the exit and a coffee shop to relax with a great view is at the end of your visit.
Prices seemed quite high for coffee at £2.50 but if it helps the running of the church then it is acceptable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michele40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,971
    396
    48
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bishops palace is the jewel in this scrown”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Beautiful cathedral with fantastic facade and the interior is also stunning but for me it is the view from the gardens of the Bishops palace at the back that is truly stunning. Its not the most memorable Cathedral for me that mantel lies with Norwich Cathedral, its wonderful bosses and setting.

There is also a street just on the left hand side of the Cathedral which is one of the most untouched in England, see if you can find it and if you can it is easy to imagine how it all looked 200 years ago.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank honestduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Most stunning cathedral we have ever seen”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wells has long been held as one of the most beautiful cathedrals in the country and having now had the honour of being there it truly does the deserce all teh accolades that it has won.
They have a chained library one of only a couple in the whole country which are up a flight of stairs and upon reaching them you can easily imagine the monks working away there from centuries ago.
They have the tombs of many of the former bishop of Wells and the incredible sarcophagi of the Bishops from 800-1000 ad are great.
My son was in awe when he saw them that he could be standing next to something so old.
The acoustics are sublime .
If you have the chance to attend one of the concerts that they hold there then I would thoroughly recommend that you go .
The only problem is that it is hard unless you are with a group to go on a guided tours of the upper levels of the cathedral.
Bristol cathedral is the same.
The best thing would be to email the Cathedral and see if they can organise it for you.
If you only go to one cathedral then I would suggest here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a fascade”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A truly memorable cathederal, by far the best we've been to. The bells were being rung in the evening and we just stood and listened it was so beautiful. Just go and see it for yourself you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaior, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wells, a small city that goes on giving.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

To be totally honest, churches and cathedrals are not my thing. That said, this one is particularly historic and renowned for its amazingly animated clock. However, I can heartily recommend its gardens and environs.

Wells is the smallest city in England (I think St Davids in Wales is smaller) but it punches well above its weight when it comes to a good day out. Come on Saturday or Wednesday mornings when the Market Square is packed with stalls. Len, our Town Crier is likely to be there, resplendent in his sideways hat and long green coat; ringing his bell and shouting greetings to our visitors. You may also find a busker in Penniless Porch where people have waited for a coin or two for centuries and as likely as not there will be a craft fair in the Town Hall.

Walk around the splendid moat surrounding the grounds of the Bishop's Palace where, if you are lucky, you may see a swan ring a bell to announce that it's feeling peckish. Then pay your entrance fee and explore the Palace grounds; wonderful at any time of year.

Although sadly, most of our high street shops are the usual clones, we probably have more coffee shops than any other High Street, size for size, so it shouldn't be too difficult to find a table to rest your weary legs and be refreshed by a good cup of coffee and a sticky bun.

There's no McDonalds, Burger King or Starbucks (they've just given up and moved away), but there are some excellent places to eat, either a posh sit down or a quick snack. Try the very laid back City Arms where they have a good choice of beers and a great menu of snacks and meals. In the summer you may get a table in the courtyard.

Enjoy the City but beware the gully that carries the overflow from the moat and runs the full length of the High Street. The locals recognise first time visitors to Wells - they're the ones plodding along with a soggy foot.

Wells is a very welcoming little City and you will find the folk friendly and easy to get along with.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Wells Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing