We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beryl B & B
Ranked #2 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Beautiful house kept expecting to come across Miss Marple ! We had the Master, comfortable 4 poster and lovely view.
Tea and cake in the lounge on arrival from Holly.
Lovely breakfast in another beautiful room. If I had 1 comment it would be that a socket near a mirror would have been great. This did not detract from our stay.
We hope to return in the summer.

Room Tip: Book directly with Holly at Beryl
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mau19512003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
193
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I could not let the year pass without recording our stay at 'Beryl'. We st;ayed at this lovely country hotel back in May when we made our yearly visit to Somerset.

The experience was more like being a guest in somebody's home than a hotel. The hotel is an old manor house set on the hillside above Wells. On arrival we were greeted by the manageress and shown to our room, after which we were served home-made cake and tea in one of the sitting rooms which was a very pleasant welcome.

Our room was on the second floor with lovely views across to Wells Cathedral, with a four-poster bed which needed a flying leap for me to get on to, but was very comfortable.

We stayed here for two nights before continuing to Bristol Airport for our holiday in Europe, and we were able to make the best of visiting the surrounding area and the Bishops Gardens in Wells and Stourhead. Being on a hillside meant a downhill walk to the town, which took us about 20 minutesl but 40 minutes to walk back..

On both mornings we had a good breakfast in the pleasant quiet dining room., and later, with most of the other guests having departed on the Sunday, we had tea and cake again in one of the lovely sitting rooms overlooking the gardens, accompanied by their cat - it was so very homely.

The only slight difficulty we found, is that being an old building there was no lift, although there is a stair-lift to the first floor. We had quite a bit of luggage, so had to haul it up the second stair-case, so it is best to travel light.

Everybody was very friendly and I gained some useful gardening tips from their lady gardener.

We would certainly like to visit again.

Room Tip: *Our room was lovely for the view, but not so good if you don't like stairs. *The bathroom for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gib73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Beryl really does deserve all the praise lavished on it in other reviews here. The building itself is a Gothic revival architectural marvel and is tastefully converted inside into a beautiful hotel with a perfect old world charm throughout. Holly and her staff are wonderfully hospitable and attentive. Free afternoon tea and home made cakes is a lovely touch. Grounds are as lovely as the house. Great attention has been clearly paid throughout the hotel to period detail, perhaps a testimony to the current owner being an antique dealer? The drawing room and bar downstairs are particularly exquisite. Breakfast was superb. We stayed for one night and will book a longer return visit for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been to quite a few places and this one, Beryl, easily beats them all - it became a very special memory for us because we felt we'd landed on our feet on arrival. It's extremely peaceful, and very beautiful and a real breath of country air if you're coming from the city. The rooms are absolutely fantastic, and the one we had included the deepest hottest bath I've ever seen. They have a little 'honesty bar' which, although we didn't use it, was in a little log-fired lounge where guests could sit and socialise over an after dinner drink before bed - it was complete with some traditional games which we did make use of. It's got a really nice feel to it, and behind the scenes you can tell it's family run, and happily (ever arrived at a B&B to a stressful Basil Fawlty greeting that made you feel unwelcomed? - Nothing of the sort here!). At night it's as quiet as can be save for a family cat sneaking around mewing here and there which adds to the sense of nuance. Now to the breakfast - again easily the best I've had: great coffee, everything to choose from - just perfect, and very well dressed staff in (if I remember correctly) proper black and white uniform. All these things left us feeling like we'd really had a great experience "that was different". We will be visiting again and again for sure, and I've lost track of how many people I've told about the place. Oh yes, and if you do visit, they have some really nice jewellery on sale in a glass box should you ever want a keepsake.

Room Tip: They generally are really accommodating in giving you the best room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Beryl was everything I hoped it would be! A beautiful country house in lovely grounds, with stunning views, Victorian style decor, a log fire, antiques, and individually decorated rooms finished to a great standard. It was more than I was expecting from a B&B to be honest - we stayed in the Spring room and it was cosy, with twee-but-tasteful decor, an amazing four poster bed and views of the cathedral. Fresh milk for our tea and coffee in the kitchenette next door was a great touch - as was the offer of mid-afternoon coffee and cakes on our arrival, the quirkily decorated honesty bar and gorgeous drawing room, available for all guests to use. Breakfast was fab too, even though our hostess was cooking without the aid of the ailing aga, so I was doubly impressed. All the staff were fab and Holly, who owns Beryl and welcomed us on arrival, was very helpful and lovely too. Definitely stay here if you're visiting Wells.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A really beautiful, tranquil house, set in secluded wooded grounds. Roaring fires, elegant decor but not in the slightest bit stuffy. Relaxed atmosphere and offers of tea and cake abound. Our room was spotless and extremely quiet and comfortable. Views over the surrounding fields and beyond. Breakfast was one of the best I have had and I didnt even have the cooked one!!! There were dishes of juicy fruit to have with creamy yoghurt, thick slices of granary bread to toast yourself and just about anything else you could want. Served on lovely delicate china in an beautiful dining room. The little black cat called Clementine sleeps in a victorian cradle on the first floor and I couldnt resist giving it a little rock everytime I walked passed. She seemed to like it!!!

Room Tip: Mary Ellen room very pretty and has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I only usually stay here when visiting family who are unwell and at these sad times Holly and her staff make the visit enjoyable. Each visit I stay in a different room, now I believe there are 16 to chose from, all different, full of antiques and rich fabrics. Breakfast included black pudding (a first for The Beryl) and the fresh fruit salad was delicious. The honesty bar is a delight and normally empty but on this occasion we conversed with guests who were full of praise for The Beryl.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different, it depends on what you want, a half tester bed, four poster etc etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Property: Beryl B & B
Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing