We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Wells??? ;)”
Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beryl B & B
Ranked #2 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

As a solo lady working for two days in Wells, I always hate the sterility of hotels. So opted for Beryl because of the great reviews by guests who have stayed. I have to say I was blown away and this would be my place of choice when/if I need to stay again. The lady who runs it, who I believe is called Holly, is so genteel and accommodating. She welcomes you with tea / coffee etc and home made cake. Time moves slower and the setting is so relaxing and welcoming - even the cats welcome you;)
the room over looked an oldy-world courtyard (no cars;) and open fields - Mendip style. The bed was more comfortable than mine at home and the bathroom spotless. Breakfast is a feast for the senses, and she even accommodates fussy gluten free eaters like myself.
I will be back...

Room Tip: I should imagine they are all good - as this is a small mansion surrounded by countryside.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Beryl B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 341 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our group of 8 had a memorable long weekend (class of '67 university friends and spouses, now all armed with bus passes). Beryl is all that the 4 and 5 blob reviews say, and proved excellent for this kind of get-together. We thoroughly enjoyed Beryl's dinner party, just for our group, on Saturday night. The house is possibly unique amongst B&Bs with lots of public rooms, (including honesty bar, games etc), interesting furnishings and décor, a great garden and handy location "just away from it all" yet walkable to Wells (and comfortable beds - for a change!). Staff are all pleasant, helpful and available when needed. As a bonus, Wells, Glastonbury and the surrounding areas offer plenty to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were welcomed with homemade cake and felt very much at home in this lovely B&B. Our room looked out over quiet countryside. The breakfasts were absolutely excellent with a very good choice, served\on antique china. Would recommend anyone wanting a touch of luxury! Could perhaps be signposted from the main road to make finding it easier?
Karima and Steve

Room Tip: I should think they are all pretty good - our room was a bit on the small side but we had everything...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family practically took over this hotel for my grandmothers 90th birthday. It was just wonderful, everything was incredible, from the food to the setting, to the rooms. They could not have been more hospitable towards us.
They even sent my sons incredibly smelly trainers back to me!
Thank you so much for making such a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maduca2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a most hospitable welcome from the owner and were in time for tea and cake in a Reception room. What you pay for is the setting and the fact that the whole house and garden are open to guests. The stylish house is set in wonderful grounds with an open air pool and there are peaceful areas to relax on benches in various parts of the well cared for garden. There is a lovely walled garden too. Each room is furnished differently.

Breakfast was really good with lots of choices and served by extremely nice staff. In fact, all the staff were exceptional. It is possible to walk to Wells Cathedral,which is beautiful with excellent guided tours. The hotel is helpful in recommending good places to eat.
We went with friends on our daughter's recommendation and were delighted to have stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What was a very last minute booking turned out to be one of the best B&B's I have stayed in - and I have stayed in a lot! Beautifully furnished with wonderful and interesting antiques. Holly and her staff are exceptional in their unpretentious and warm friendly service. Outstanding breakfasts and the added addition of tea and cake waiting for you in the afternoon. Lovely grounds and the use of their pool in the summer. I have stayed in many hotels that charge an awful lot more money for very mediocre rooms and service. Beryl is underpriced for what it offers - we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a lovely find, Beryl is a beautiful old mansion with uniquely decorated rooms all filled with lots of interesting antiques. The owner and her staff are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, we felt like privileged guests in a country house. Faultless.
Breakfast was excellent, vegetarians well catered for too, and served in a charming dining room overlooking the extensive gardens and outdoor swimming pool.
Wells cathedral is a twenty minute walk away and is fascinating as is the Bishops Palace with its gardens and moat with the famous swans. Wells is a very pretty little city and has a good selection of places to eat and drink and plenty of little shops to explore, all in quite a compact area.

Room Tip: If you book by phone you can choose your room if available whereas if you book online the room is ch...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#5 of 37 in Wells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing