We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beryl B & B
Ranked #2 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. The staff were very welcoming and It felt more like being a house guest at a stately home than just another customer. The hotel is beautifully furnished and our room was quite magnificent with views across the gardens down towards Wells. The breakfasts were delicious with everything cooked to order. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed it so much we have booked to return for a further three nights in the summer.

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel is the Butterfly room but all of them are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful BB. everything is absolut perfection.The house , wonderful antiques everywhere -Both the rooms we had were very pretty and confortable. Best sleep I had in ages.
The b'fast was delicious. I loved the porridge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mireandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Utterly enchanting, Victorian Gothic decorated wonder!
Welcomed by Holly to the most delightful hotel I've ever stayed in. A feeling of being transported to another age, where impeccable service, food and setting are the norm.
Worth every single penny!

Room Tip: The chef can do a private, 3 course dinner for you in the kitchen for £30 per head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathewWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked here for our 50th wedding anniversary and being out of season were offered three nights for the price of two and what a bargain it turned out to be. We were given a delightful room with fantastic views over the garden and the city of Wells. The house is very imposing from the outside and this is continued within as it is furnished with antiques and lovely curios. Breakfast is served in an exquisitely furnished dining room that has views of both the garden and beyond towards Wells. The range of options available for breakfast is endless and guaranteed to cater for all tastes from a selection of fresh fruit to the classical ‘full English’. The downside is that the house is just outside a comfortable walking distance of Wells but a taxi trip is unlikely to ‘break the bank’. The ‘honesty bar’ is the ideal place for a ‘nightcap’ and the prices charged are more than reasonable. The owner is the perfect hostess and a valuable source of information ranging from where to park within Wells (not easy) to where to eat. An excellent base for visiting sites within the area with Glastonbury only 6 miles away and the park and ride facility at Bath barely 30 mins away. I urge you stay here and can guarantee that you not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the Butterfly room as it has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked Beryl as a last minute break....little did I know of his plans to propose here! What a perfect spot, tranquil, elegant and extraordinary. It really was a pleasure to stay here and we were made to feel so very welcome. The breakfast was delicious and Pepecorn a beautiful room at the top of the house. We will remember it fondly and hope to return!
Many thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A charming and substantial period house set in it's own grounds which were well worth exploring, even more so had we been there in summer. The room was clean, comfortable and very large. Our hostess,Holly, was both charming and welcoming. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This B & B is wonderful in every way. Lovely comfortable beds, lovely breakfast, lovely home, lovely hostess. My daughter and I spent three nights at Beryl and could not fault it and will return for more of this wonderful home.The house was warm as was the reception we received from all the staff. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well appointed and comfortable some overlook the gardens and some the fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing