We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food. Good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wells
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food. Good value.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for a few days to visit the city of Wells. The hotel was ideally located and we didn't have too many problems parking the car. The hotel being very old, had a lot of character. Our room was comfortable and at the front facing the road, meaning our sleep was disturbed by dustmen at 6am some mornings. We found the shower adequate but with no power and just a slow flow of water. On the plus side the room was clean, the bed was really comfortable and a nice touch was that bottled water was available in the room each day as well as the usual tea and coffee making facility. Our highlight at the hotel was the food. This was fine dining of the highest order and each dish that came out from the kitchen was a joy to eat. We spoke to the chef on occasions and congratulated him on his cooking skills. He told us he had worked at top restaurants in London, but wanted to return to the west country. If in Wells, and not planning to stay, we would definitely recommend having a meal at The Ancient Gate House. The sister hotel is over the road and this is where guests take breakfast which was cooked to a high standard. All in all an enjoyable stay at The Ancient Gate House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Cathedral green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMaggie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Owner at Ancient Gate House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant is absolutely wonderful yes indeed. We are very lucky to have such a talent within the kitchen. Our executive head chef and his team are working extremely hard to deliver fantastic food and in my opinion probably the best food in Wells. We had some quests eat with us only last night and stated that he food was better than that at the Waterside in Bray. They are three star Michelin. That was truly a remarkable statement for us.
Thank you once again for your comments and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    75
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
20
139
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is within the views of the cathederal. You won't see them while you eat but then it is easy to walk too and certainly just a few steps away from a main tourist attraction. The food was light, well served for italian fare in UK, and most delightful at lunchtime. Seemed very popular with the tourists so try get there before it gets too late. I did see some people having to be turned away.
Really enjoyed lunch with my Aussie cousin and the house wine was very palitable. Both Red & White
May try somewhere else next time but certainly have no problems going back to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_is_your_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Owner at Ancient Gate House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant is absolutely wonderful yes indeed. We are very lucky to have such a talent within the kitchen. Our executive head chef and his team are working extremely hard to deliver fantastic food and in my opinion probably the best food in Wells. We had some quests eat with us only last night and stated that he food was better than that at the Waterside in Bray. They are three star Michelin. That was truly a remarkable statement for us.
Thank you once again for your comments and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the hotel with Laterooms who had good reviews, then we looked at Trip Advisor and were sorry to see some worrying ones. We emailed the hotel to ask for a room overlooking the Cathedral and also to check the size of the bed as my husband is over 6' tall. Nicholas Rossi answered very quickly and offered a half tester with Cathedral view. We arrived on Saturday at about 17.30 and parked, as advised, in the road behind the hotel where we could leave the car from 4pm to 10am free of charge, no problem getting a space. We checked in with a very nice receptionist who showed us to our room and offered help with the luggage. We were staying in room 7 which is a light and airy wooden beamed room with interesting features due to it's considerable age. The view over the Cathedral green was fantastic. The stairs up to the first floor were pretty standard, however the flight to the second floor was a stiff climb and could be a problem if you had serious mobility problems. I do have some mobility problems myself but managed the stairs using the handrails available. It was definitely worth the effort for the view from the bedroom. Apparently there is a stone spiral staircase to another room upstairs but we didn't see it. We had a bathroom with shower, sink and toilet with complimentary toiletries overlooking the street and as the weather was warm left the windows open to allow a good flow of air throughout. Plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water available in the room. Breakfast was in the sister hotel opposite it was delicious and plenty of it!! Being a VERY old building there are some low beams and quirky angles, just mind your head and don't let it put you off or you might miss a little gem.

Room Tip: Request Cathedral view if possible. We loved room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didavkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartwells, Owner at Ancient Gate House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. It means a lot a that our efforts have been appreciated. We strive in delivering quality both in our product and with our service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at The Ancient Gatehouse. It is a very old building with some steep and winding stairs but we love that kind of thing. Fantastic location overlooking the cathedral green. Staff all friendly we found.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great value, a very nice room with a lovely view. We ate at the Hotel on the one night we stayed and enjoyed the meal very much. Excellent location for every sight seeing and shopping opportunity in Wells, and to have parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Turned up without a reservation and got a room with a stunning view overlooking the cathedral green. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but this hotel is well worth staying in. Good sized, comfortable and clean ensuite room with an amazing view (although I think not all rooms will have the view). Friendly staff and competent Italian restaurant downstairs. Table service drinks before dinner, sitting on the cathedral green, was a holiday highlight.
This is not a "corporate" hotel. Its a bit dated, but clean and well looked after, full of winding stairs and sloping corridors. However, the location, atmosphere and friendly service made it a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and I had lunch at the Italian restaurant in this hotel. We had the three course lunch for £13.90 which also included a glass of wine. We both thought the food was of high quality, very tasty and the service was 100%! We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown at Wells
The Crown at Wells
#12 of 37 in Wells
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Gate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Gate House Hotel

Property: Ancient Gate House Hotel
Address: 20 Sadler St, Wells BA5 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ancient Gate House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you come to the Ancient Gate House in the Cathedral city of Wells in Somerset, you'll feel at home as soon as you arrive.Whether you are staying in one of our recently decorated and beautiful bedrooms, or dining in one of our award winning restaurants your comfort and satisfaction are at the heart of everything we do.The Ancient Gatehouse is a family run hotel and restaurant offering a blend of friendly and professional attention in relaxed yet stylish surroundings situated facing the famous west front of Wells Cathedral and the Cathedral Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ancient Gate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Gate Hotel
Ancient Gate House Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing